We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food wonderful atmosphere”

Palmers Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #8 of 66 Restaurants in Andover
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salem, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious food wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My family and I had a delicious dinner at Palmer's. Each of us was quite pleased with our meal choice. The service was very good; attentive and unobtrusive. The atmosphere was also quite pleasant. Smooth jazz played in the background; you were aware it was there but it subtly added to the experience rather than overwhelm it. It was quiet enough to be able to have dinner conversation, a rarity now in many restaurants including high end ones.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weheckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    51
    20
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pub with great dinners”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It's hard to find non-chain restaurants where you'll be spared the same frozen entrees found at those chains. Palmers has great food and a lot of different rooms so the ambiance can change from one visit to the next. That said, it can get crowded depending on the size of your party.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaTooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Living nearby means a visit to Palmers every couple of months. Their Burger special (Monday night only) is a great bargain for a great burger. The downstairs is casual - that is where we eat. Have not really eaten in the other more formal sections of the restaurant. Like the salads, sliders, steak. Have not had a dish that we did not like. It can get very loud downstairs when the bar is packed full. And when they have a band there, it is very loud. So we like to go during the week when it is a little quieter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fenway19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MA
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

For a local pub, the food is consistently really good. Lots of menu choices and it'll please everyone. Wines are a little more basic, good selection of beer. Can get loud in the bar at night, which is a plus or minus depending on your view.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Explorer_from_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes In MA”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I use Palmers all the time and am never disappointed.
The ambiance is good both downstairs (casual) and upstairs (more formal).
My favorite starter is the Crab Cake appetiser and I often have it as an entree.
Steaks are very good, fish is excellent and the staff is extremely pleasant.
Very good value for money and to me the best in Andover.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmers Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Palmers Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing