We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice business dinner”

Palmers Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #9 of 66 Restaurants in Andover
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
611 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 944 helpful votes
“Nice business dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

On a Monday evening (only a few tables were occupied), dinner was with a few collegues. Most of the group had the clam chowder and I had the kale salad special. The chowder was a traditional creamy white chowder and the kale salad had candied pecans, cranberries and blue cheese.

I had the crab cakes as my entree which were very good, served with a tasty remoulade. The others had the swordfish, burger and grilled chicken & peach salad.

We shared a slice of the chocolate decadence cake which was served with some whipped cream

The server was very cordial and accomodating to some special requests.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikko4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    47
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We like this place. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Palmers several times and are never disappointed. The service is always great and the food is pretty outstanding. The atmosphere in the dining rooms is a mix between quaint and upscale and it's usually quiet enough to have a conversation over dinner. My only criticism is that the wine list is a little sparse. Overall, great choice for a midrange nice dinner out.

Helpful?
Thank RC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Andover BusinessTrip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a typically Boston area bar/restaurant. I mostly like the bar like atomsphere and its history. I was told it used to be a funeral home. It dose serves food and offers salads which was overall pretty good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ms00169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Indoors or Out. Must order the Potato skins! I personally love the Chicken Caesar but never have ordered something I have not liked. Upstairs and inside is a bit more 'fancy' but downstairs at the bar/grille is casual. Sometimes a band is playing. A nice date night or night out with friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mindprofessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine dining and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have dined here many times and have always enjoyed it whether seated on the porch and dining from the pub menu or upstairs in the dining room.Inventive,well-executed menu perfectly served by Mark who has been providing elegant service there for years..Wonderful veal and seafood followed by well-brewed coffee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmers Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Palmers Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing