We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love it!”
Review of Thai Sweet Basil

Thai Sweet Basil
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Andover
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Love, love, love it!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Thai Sweet Basil has been in the Shawsheen Plaza for years. I have eaten there 30+ times and the food is always consistently good. The place probably has 40 tables, and is packed at lunch time.

They will make any dish "spicy" for you upon request. Spicy pad thai is one of my favorites. I have had all the curry dishes except the mango curry, and they are equally good.

The food is always hot and fresh, and the staff is attentive. Don't expect much attention during lunch time due to the high volume.

Great food for the money!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khoward67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    62
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thai Love It!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Went with two coworkers for a quick lunch. It was easy to find and clearly a local favorite with all the folks waiting for a table. The wait was not long as tables turn over fast.

The menus was full of Thai staples and the Masaman Curry was perfection. I ordered Jasmine rice as well and it was first rate!

Wonderful food, great price, fast & friendly service. I can't wait to return!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliz1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Family favorite!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is our all time favorite restaurant in town! This food is fresh, tasty and well-priced.

My husband loves all the curries, I love the Mango Cucumber Salad and my teenage son is passionate about the "Muddy Noodles" and Pad Thai.

We visit here often and have never been disappointed! And the tapestries on the wall are magnificent also!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Andover”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Service is wonderful and the food never disappoints. What more could you ask for? Maybe delivery service but I can't think of anything else to improve upon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Has never disappointed”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have never had a bad meal here - this is our fallback restaurant when we can't think of anywhere else to go. Prices are reasonable, menu has lots to offer and everything we've tried has been very good, lunch or dinner. Favorites are the coconut chicken lemon grass soup, fresh spring rolls, pad thai, and mango curry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Sweet Basil also viewed

 

Been to Thai Sweet Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing