We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but poor soundproofing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Boston Andover
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice stay but poor soundproofing”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Front desk staff: great, friendly, welcoming. Room was nicely decorated, recently renovated, and clean. Breakfast, just fine. Really everything was great but for the poor soundproofing. Walls are so thin that from the fourth floor, you can hear car doors slam in the parking lot below. And if someone knocks on a nearby door, it sounds like they are knocking on your door. One would think that a newer building would be designed with adequate soundproofing for the comfort of hotel guests.

The HVAC unit was also quite loud when it would cycle on. I didn't investigate whether it had an "always on" fan setting, this might have helped as white noise (if the units don't have such a setting already, I would recommend the hotel consider this to help with the lack of soundproofing).

Mainly, I just went away feeling what a shame that this hotel is doing so much right, but is stuck with this poor construction.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cf131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    85
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
81
35
6
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location is a little far if you want to spend a lot of time in downtown Boston but it is quiet. The rooms however have pretty thin walls as I could hear conversations the first night and Sasquatch above us both nights. Friendly helpful service and decent breakfast. We selected this hotel because they allow 6 guests but if you use the sofa sleeper, you will have to climb over it to get to the door or rearrange furniture. Overall the experience balanced out. Maybe rooms on the top floor would be more peaceful...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOnStandby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Springhill suites on and off over the years. I went back after not having visited for 4 years recently and was pleased to see that it had been renovated.

The rooms are like mini appartments so they have a very basic kitchen area - the idea being you could make your own meals if you wanted to.
The bedrooms are very big and also comfortable. There are near to black out curtains. There is a small sofa also in the room. The bathroom is good - power shower and hot . I only experienced it once where the water was not running as warm as it needed to be.

The one let down in the room is the noisy heater - seems to be the same system they had 4 years ago

Breakfast is ok - glad to see it got a little healthier over the years but it still saddens me to see everyone eating off paper plates and treating it as a take away meal. It's nowhere near comparable to what you would expect in a European hotel of the same size.

Note that the hotel is close to all the business parks but its not in Andover town centre. There is not much to do in the area but there are a couple of restaurants - chillis for example that can be reached on foot. The hotel also has a nice pool

Surrounding area is woodland which is quite nice for anyone keen on walking /jogging.

Hotel staff were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morts109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I really, really want to give this hotel 5 stars. The service is outstanding, breakfast is solid and fresh, rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable, and the location is serene and peaceful. The only main issue I have had here (I've stayed 4 times in the past year) is that if I get a room that's not on the top floor, I can continually hear people walking above me. Maybe it was a flaw in construction, but it does drive me crazy. It didn't seem to be a problem on the top floor, so pick that if you don't want to hear creaks.
The other minor thing is that the A/C is right next to the bed, so it is blowing on it constantly when on. I like a cold room, so I would prefer to have it working than not, but the design isn't the best.
At the end of the day, the staff makes up for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Boston Andover, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and were impressed with our rooms and staff service! Our team takes great pride in delivering service that exceeds the expectations of our guests! I apologize that the location of our air conditioning equipment was not ideal for you, but it is great that you have located your preferred room location within our hotel! Please feel free to contact the hotel directly prior to your next visit, and we will gladly assign you in a room on the top floor! Thanks for staying with SpringHill Suites - we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the years. This is a very well kept and well located hotel. Rooms are nice and were recently renovated. Staff is accomodating and friendly. The breakfast is well done with both continental and full meal.

You our minutes away from New Hampshire, an hour from Boston and an hour and a half from Maine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedconrardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Boston Andover, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with SpringHill Suites Andover and for posting your review on Trip Advisor! I'm happy to hear that our convenient location, complimentary breakfast and friendly staff enhanced your experience! We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here 1 night for business near Lowell, MA, which is 10 miles away, not many hotels there. The hotel is exceptional, nicely maintained, beds very comfortable, and nice free breakfast in the morning. It's in a quiet hotel and business park, a Chilli's is nearby, and only 4 miles away in Methuen is an Outback Steakhouse with the usual good food and happy times for relaxation. It's also just off 93 South and easy to get to. It's got a nice pool and gym, but I never used due to the short stay. I would highly recommend this hotel...price is right, it's clean and safe, and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crabtownguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Boston Andover, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites for your recent hotel stay and for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience. I'm delighted to hear how pleased you were with your experience - I look forward to sharing your comments with my team! Please come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice and new hotel in a quiet location. I was very happy with this hotel. The lobby area and seating for breakfast was modern. The room was very clean and bathroom passed my cleanliness test! The room was quiet and in back of the hotel which backed to a wooded area.The pool area was ok, kids loved it and it was very busy, it was a very small pool for the size of the hotel. There were nice walking trails to the river around the hotel. Breakfast was good, had all standard hotel fare. Overall, pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mayo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Boston Andover, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites for your recent stay in Andover! I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the complimentary amenities with your family that we offer at SpringHill Suites and that the cleanliness, quiet location and walking trails enhanced your experience! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andover hotels
0.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Andover
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Andover
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Boston Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Andover
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Andover
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Boston Andover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Boston Andover

Property: SpringHill Suites Boston Andover
Address: 550 Minuteman Rd, Andover, MA 01810-1044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Andover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Andover
#4 Business Hotel in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Boston Andover 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Boston Andover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Boston Andover Hotel Andover
Springhill Suites Andover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing