We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better under new management”

Samuel's At The Andover Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Samuel's At The Andover Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 66 Restaurants in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Enjoy "Classic New England Fare" with modern twists at Samuel's - the restaurant at Andover Inn, Andover, MA. Our restaurant features the very best local and seasonal ingredients in its dishes. In addition, taste one of the local craft beers on draft, a creative libation, or a sip from our whiskey, cognac or scotch selection.
Boston
Level Contributor
305 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Much better under new management”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for dinner recently expecting to dislike it. We have had meals in past years at the Inn that were flat out bad. BUT this is a new chef and management and it is very good for what it is. The wine list is fairly priced and interesting for Andover, and our meals were prepared well. The waitstaff was very nice as well. We will be back. Kudos for turning it around!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    40
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogunquit, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not consistent”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Well, since the last review...we took my Mom for a nice dinner out. I have no idea what happened, but it was truly awful. My Mom asked for a rare steak, it came out well done. No pink anywhere so we had to send it back. Our food was already out and getting cold so we had to begin eating. By the time her steak came back, we were done with our dinner. Our food was mediocre at best. We will not be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Samuel's At The Andover Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your dining experience. I do apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you and your family. Our culinary team strives to deliver a consistent and high quality product. We seem to have fallen well short of these expectations and want to insure you that we will do everything to rectify this situation. Unfortunately we failed to recognize the severity of you disappointment that evening and allowed you to leave without making amends. I would like to discuss this unfortunate and unusual dining experience with you so that I can make things right for you and your family.

Please call me at your earliest convenience to discuss the matter further. We appreciate your business and hope we can make this right.

Sincerely,
Stephan Amesoeder
General Manager
The Andover Inn
978-775-4903
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food. Good service.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I would have preferred softer, less frenetic background music or none at all. It was rather loud jazz "muzak."

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeredithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
268 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“New and improved”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We dined at Samuel's last year and planned not to return. But learning that it was under new management, we chose to give it another try. The first improvement, was that we were seated in an attractive rear dining room, not mired by the large flat-screen TV's which dominate the bar/front dining area. I still don't understand why TV screens were added to this previously elegant restaurant whose charm derived largely from a formal, wood-paneled motif. Samuels' front room has an identity crisis, and cannot decide if it is a restaurant, or sports bar.

Blaring screens aside, our meal was delicious, and served by a pleasant and most attentive young waitress. My wife's Cobb salad was "A+" and the baked haddock was terrific, although the portion size smaller than I would have liked. We do plan to return.

Note to Samuel's: Please consider turning off the sports bar televisions during prime dining hours. You are NOT a sports bar!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gyrfalcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel/inn food”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The restaurant has improved its food and pricing since it opened. The four of us had beef short ribs, a burger, a Cobb salad, flatbread, risotto and appetizers. They were very good and the service was prompt and courteous. I would definitely recommend the restaurant to anyone in Andover.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samuel's At The Andover Inn also viewed

 

Been to Samuel's At The Andover Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing