We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Consistent food!”

Samuel's At The Andover Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Samuel's At The Andover Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Enjoy "Classic New England Fare" with modern twists at Samuel's - the restaurant at Andover Inn, Andover, MA. Our restaurant features the very best local and seasonal ingredients in its dishes. In addition, taste one of the local craft beers on draft, a creative libation, or a sip from our whiskey, cognac or scotch selection.
Bolton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, Consistent food!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have been to this restaurant several times with clients; while visiting Valentine & Kebartas, and the food is exceptional! The Filet Mignon is cooked perfectly.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    42
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best place for quality food in Andover”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I've eaten here with work colleagues and with family. The food is really good quality and well prepared. The staff are friendly and professional. The menu has a good combination of meat, fish and vegetarian options. I have a vegetarian pasta dish last week which was really excellent. Our resident wine buff thought the wine list was well put together. One complaint I have is the level of noise from the small bar, separated from the front dining area by a partition; this can make conversation difficult on a busy night, ask for a table in the back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CabinteelyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

little bit on pricey side. Food was good! Very flavorful. Neat and clean. Professional staff and great service.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Noisy with so-so food”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Sorry, but Philips Andover should find a new innkeeper. This is a lovely building after PA did the restoration, but the restaurant is just not up to expectations. We found it very noisy. I can see going to a noisy restaurant if the food is good, but the food was pretty mediocre. My wife and I both had the beef stew as a starter, and it was barely warm. It was tasty, but far colder than it should have been. I ordered a half order of ravioli, and it was small and kind of dry. The bread didn't seem quite right, either. The only thing I liked about the meal was the wine. My wife commented that the least they could do was to light the fire in the fireplace in the lobby.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank DBS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful re-make of a old classic !! Eat at the bar for the best service”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

The Academy has done a great job of making The Inn a place worth stopping at! The lobby is beautiful, complete with beverage service around the fireplace and other cozy seating areas. The dining room is that of an upscale club; however, call ahead if you have a party of more than 4 because all the dining room has is tables for 2 or 4. Salads, appetizers and entrees are all made of the finest ingredients, many of them local. Plated nicely, too. We did not have dessert in either of our visits. Rack of lamb, the burgers, a scallop special (it was an appetizer, but we had them add a few scallops for a dinner portion) were all excellent. Accompanying vegetables and starch were good, too. We prefer to eat at the bar when it is just the two of us and find the food and beverage service much faster there. There is no formal dress code, so expect academy parents and faculty all dressed up, town folks in for a party or just people who have heard about the place and want to check it out. It is a great addition to the Andover, dining scene!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andovermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samuel's At The Andover Inn also viewed

 

Been to Samuel's At The Andover Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing