We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 189 Prime

189 Prime
Ranked #16 of 66 Restaurants in Andover
Price range: $16 - $34
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: River Road
Description: Merrimack Valley Neighborhood Steakhouse, featuring prime steaks, fresh Atlantic seafood, salads with locally sourced greens and organic produce in season. A full menu, designed with creative application and paired with the familiar make an impression. Contemporary, casual with a relaxed atmosphere.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

While the food was very good (wasn't really paying too much attention), the waitress, Kathy, was exceptional, as was the manager who regularly checked on us. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable, it made for a lovely evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyM340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Patio Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The fire pit was fun to watch. It was not too crowded and service was just what I wanted after a busy day of traveling. Food was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loretta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevelan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Colossal waste of money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I don't know if the other reviewers of this restaurant get out much, but they've got to be kidding. I saw a lot of pictures and read the reviews and couldn't wait to eat here. We were staying here for an event and our hostess arranged a dinner the night before. I debated briefly between the regular filet and the bone-in, but since that was their specialty I went with it. Big mistake.
I ordered medium rare. I got a dried out piece of MEDIUM cooked meat with absolutely ZERO seasoning or flavor. All the for not-so-small price of $39! I've eaten at steakhouses all over the planet but never been so disappointed, especially for the price. If this was $12 at Ponderosa I might be more understanding.
Oh, and it took FOREVER to get our food. And they didn't bring any of the sauces that were supposed to come with the filet. Or put any beans on my wife's Nicoisse Salad. I feel totally ripped off. Do NOT eat here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Breakfast had everything for a full breakfast, including made to order omlettes,, and belguim waffles besides the regular morning splaces.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marinemom1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

After reading the reviews, we were anxious to go there. We booked a reservation and headed over. There's not a lot going on in Lawrence, Massachusetts so we chose On the Bone.

The restaurant is in the Wyndam hotel. It was really nice and not busy.

The service was really good. The food was okay. I was a bit travel weary so I ordered a lighter fare - the shrimp risotto. My hubbie ordered the filet showcase dinner.

We opened with the soups - clam chowder and french onion soup. They were fabulous!

The shrimp was okay - the risotto was very lumpy. He enjoyed his filet and fries.

We finished with the dessert round - I had the Marquis Cake (flourless chocolate), it was good. He had the Creme Brulee which he enjoyed very much.

All in all, it was nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 189 Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing