We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the typical hotel restaurant!”
Review of 189 Prime

189 Prime
Reserve with OpenTable
189 Prime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 66 Restaurants in Andover
Price range: $16 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: River Road
Description: Merrimack Valley Neighborhood Steakhouse, featuring prime steaks, fresh Atlantic seafood, salads with locally sourced greens and organic produce in season. A full menu, designed with creative application and paired with the familiar make an impression. Contemporary, casual with a relaxed atmosphere.
New Hampshire, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Much better than the typical hotel restaurant!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Forget what you think you know about hotel restaurants and try this one.

Terrific food, great service, all in all a very pleasant experience. My strip steak was as good as any I've ever had. Scallops were cooked perfectly. One person in our party ordered the Chicken Schnitzel, and was given the Chicken Statler instead...he ate it anyway and pronounced it very good.

A couple of the bone-in items were not available, but there was still a lot of variety on the menu.

The hotel and restaurant are close to Route 93, which made it convenient for both the Boston-based and NH-based people in the party.

Prices were a little on the high side (it *is* in a hotel), but not outrageous for the quality of the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poisson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTBMGT, Manager at 189 Prime, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to write such great things about On the Bone! We are very excited to know that you loved the quality of food and service at On the Bone Restaurant. We apologize for serving the incorrect chicken dish, although the guest mentioned they did enjoy it. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    31
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gales Ferry
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a very long day traveling and being in a meeting all day. We were staying at the Wyndom Hotel (where the reastaurant is located) and it was great not having to drive anywhere. I usually shy away from hotel reastaurants but this was definitely the exception. It is known as a steakhouse but it had a very good overall menu. The atmosphere was relaxing and comfortable. The food was outstanding. I highly recomment this place

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DWS177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTBMGT, Manager at 189 Prime, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear DWS177,

Thank you for taking your time to post such wonderful feedback about our restaurant. We are very excited to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience with us, from the food to the atmosphere. We are glad to hear that we have met your expectations and we hope that you can visit us again while staying at the beautiful Wyndham Andover Hotel.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large portions for a great price!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The large soup is enough for two people to share and comes with bread. The balsamic butter served in the evening is phenomenal!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTBMGT, Manager at 189 Prime, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Rachelle,

Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are excited to know that you enjoyed your dinner with us. We do offer generous tasty portions for a great price. We hope that you can visit us again soon so that you can enjoy other items from our diverse menu. Thank you again for taking your time to write a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fresh and tasty food. I highly recommend the Wild Buffalo Burger. The frutti di mare linguine is also excellent. The breakfast buffet is OK.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTBMGT, Manager at 189 Prime, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Kenx,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our delicious Wild Buffalo Burger and frutti di mari linguine and that it met your expectations. We hope that you can visit On the Bone again in the future! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great food ,better service”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Absolutely everything good ,nothing bad .We were there for breakfast and had a choice of a buffet or ordering from the menu .We opted for the latter .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank len16107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTBMGT, Manager at 189 Prime, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback about your recent On the Bone visit. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Thank you again for visiting On the Bone.

Sincerely,

Annette M. Titorenko
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 189 Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing