We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yella Grille

Yella Grille
Ranked #4 of 66 Restaurants in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Yella, which means “Come On, Let’s Go” in Lebanese, is a Modern Mediterranean Grille located in the heart of downtown Andover. Chef Carlo Berdahn and his wife Danielle together co-own the picturesque bistro, bringing a new and fresh dining option to the Merrimack Valley. The intimate space and updated décor provide a warm and relaxed atmosphere, while its crisp linens and open layout give the dining room a comfortable and inviting setting. Lebanese inspired, these beautifully plated dishes remain true to the hearty traditions of regional cooking; warm soups, dark lentils, subtle teasing spices, velvety risotto, crispy pan seared fish, succulent lamb and delectable desserts. Chef Berdahn uses his culinary expertise to create classic, yet modern Mediterranean dishes.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Yella Grille is tucked away on a little street off Main Street in Andover. It is a cozy little spot with a lot of ambiance. The first thing we noticed was the friendly staff who greeted us as we came in and who made us feel relaxed and welcome, especially appreciated since this was our first visit. We were shown to our table for two located at the front window. The restaurant is in a very old building so the windows are wonderful! The menu is meditarranean and our waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the offerings and explained in detail what each menu item consisted of. We were then able to make our choice. The quality and preparation of the food is superb. I can't remember when we ate at a restaurant of this caliber. The restaurant is extremely clean and the decor is tastefully done. One of the owners makes it a point to connect with each table which is a nice touch. This is a restaurant worth checking out on the web and worth the drive. Reservatiopns are a must since it is a popular spot. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PattyL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle B, Owner at Yella Grille, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We appreciate you posting such great feedback about Yella! We strive to create a welcoming environment with delicious food, wonderful service, and a beautiful atmosphere. We, too, are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    35
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“As always, a very good experience”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Last night we went to Yella's with our daughter, our son, and his fiancee. It was the first time for most of us, and almost everyone seemed to enjoy our meals quite a lot. Our son was the only hold-out, he thought it was a little pricey compared to NYC, which I cannot see. It was the third time for my wife and I, so we obviously would go back - and have.

Two of us had the lamb, one had the vegetarian paparadelle, I had the slow-cooked braised beef with risotto. The service was excellent, and the ambience is very comfortable and friendly. It's also very close to 495, if someone is looking for a nice stop for dinner.

Two hints on the restaurant: a) If you have more than four people, you should call at least a week ahead of time to get a reservation. We had five of us, and there is only one table where they could seat us, so we ended up with a very early seating. b). The wine list did not seem to have a lot of choice in moderately-priced reds, but the Lurton Merlot ended up being a good choice. We had been to the vineyard, so that was a nice plus.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DBS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle B, Owner at Yella Grille, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of Yella! The lamb and short ribs are certainly two of our specialty dishes. And, to agree with what you said, we absolutely recommend reservations, most especially on the weekends. Our dining room is very small and we fill up quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Personal Service, Good Food, Cramped Space”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We enjoyed our evening out at Yella. The food is well prepared, with special attention to vegetarian, lactose, and gluten requirements. The space is a bit cramped, and you you will not be encouraged to spend more than 90 minutes at the table; therefore service is prompt. No cocktails, but a nice wine list. Family run and the owner/hostess was very congenial on the phone and in person. The owner/chef is very talented and has some unique offerings from Lebanese influences. We would not be in a rush to make the hour drive to eat here again, but would certainly return if in the area.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle B, Owner at Yella Grille, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Yella! We do pay special attention on our menu to those guests who need to have dishes which are lactose and/or gluten free, as well as vegetarian. The Chef is born and raised in Lebanon, so his menu absolutely features flavors from Lebanon, but also from elsewhere in the Mediterranean. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Interesting, very tiny restaurant”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

3 of us went for a mid afternoon lunch during the week before Christmas. 2 of us had never been there before. It was.......interesting. Not the best meal I have ever had, but good. Portions, given the prices, were on the small side, but fine for lunch. I love garlic, but in a few dishes it was so overpowering that was all you could taste which was unfortunate. Not sure if I will go back or not...definitely not with my husband as there was virtually nothing on the menu he would eat and the garlic alone would turn him off.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mamacyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle B, Owner at Yella Grille, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience with us. You are correct; garlic is a predominant flavor throughout a lot of our food, but it should not have been so overpowering. We hope to see you again in hopes that your experience will be different. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dry, over handled food”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Our dinner was off to a rocky start as the customer at the table next to ours was having a verbal altercation with the owner, complete with bad language. We were not impressed with the hummus to start; spouse's chicken was dry and my scallops were good, slightly overcooked, but coated with superfluous topping.
We will not return. If you want a fantastic Lebanese/Mediterranean restaurant go to Cafe Barada in Cambridge.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle B, Owner at Yella Grille, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We are very disappointed that your experience with us was not all it could have been. It is most unfortunate that your meal was off to such a rocky start, and we were truly embarrassed to have our other guests in the restaurant exposed to that incident. Please visit us again at Yella in hopes that your experience will be much different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yella Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing