We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ehhhh. Not my favorite”
Review of Andover Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andover Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Andover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ehhhh. Not my favorite”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I went to school in the town of Andover for 4 years. Over the course of that time both myself, and many of my family members spent nights at the Andover Inn. In terms of location, it's pretty perfect. The Inn is right on Phillips Academy's campus with easy walking access to any of the academic buildings or the dining hall. It's also just a short walk to get to downtown Andover. The problem with the Inn is that the service isn't great. The rooms are nice but nothing special. The food is alright but really expensive. I'd recommend it solely because of it's location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    27
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
19
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The staff here is first rate. Gregory, at the front desk, has greeted me warmly every time over my four years visiting the school. He's terrific. Rooms are clean and well appointed. The Inn was very tastefully updated only a few years ago and has nice touches, including Frette towels. I'll miss my visits after our son graduates.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erwin94301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at the Andover Inn for 3 nights during a business trip. The room was really nice, very clean. The food in Samuels was very good. The surrounding area is beautiful. It is a little away from the main routes so getting there may be a problem. I rented a car from Boston Logan airport, just be careful to allow time to drive back into the airport! I believe there is a rail service if you have the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Andover Inn and have to give a mixed review.The Inn location is perfect for strolling into the town center which has several restaurants and interesting shops. The Inn itself is lovely, the room small but comfortable but the restaurant service for breakfast both days was terrible! One day there was only one waiter who was overwhelmed but very apologetic, the second day the waiter was downright surly! And for all the aggravation the breakfast food was only mediocre.
If in the area again I might stay at the Inn again but certainly wouldn't choose to eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katem716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just got back from a two-day conference in Andover. The inn is lovely, very clean and comfortable. It's an easy walk into town and other dining options, although Samuels has traditional steak and fish entrees. The walk into town is wonderful - must be gorgeous at Christmas! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sr_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visiting Phillips Academy at Andover this Inn was great as it was directly on campus. Staff was great room was clean and bed was comfortable so what more can you ask for. Other hotels in area are about 15 to 20 minute drive so if visiting this school location is awsome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I recently stayed here two nights while attending a local business meeting. Some colleagues stayed at chain hotels, in a "business park". (yech!) This inn is ON the campus of Philips Andover Academy - so gorgeous. I was able to walk around the beautiful grounds in the evening (after dinner in the hotel restaurant, Samuels, and then walk to town (maybe 1/2 mile) to shop and get a frozen yogurt. There was also a Starbucks and Brueggers bagels in the town.
Hotel room was small, but beautiful. Wonderful down bedding. Helpful staff. Also, a couple of outdoor tables to enjoy meals outside. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacher120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andover hotels
4.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Andover
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Andover
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Boston Andover
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Andover
5.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andover Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andover Inn

Property: Andover Inn
Address: 4 Chapel Ave, Andover, MA 01810-4199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Andover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andover Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Andover Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andover Hotel Andover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing