We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Black Walnut Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vail,CO
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had 11 family members stay there recently to celebrate our niece's wedding. It was a great experience, we enjoyed visiting with the owners and they were very accommodating and their breakfast in the morning was great.

We had a one year baby and they were very helpful in allowing us access to the kitchen late at night and placing a small refrigerator in our room.

Look forward to staying there again, when our family gets together to celebrate another wedding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomlgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
46
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Black Walnut Inn (BWI) is everything you want in a bed and breakfast. The rooms are cozy and quaint, the breakfast outstanding and the hospitality warm and welcoming. I knew we were in for a pleasant experience as soon as we arrived. I walked up to the door and there was a note with my name on it telling me which rooms we were in and where our keys were. I don't know how it can be made any easier. Our room was on the first floor, very convenient to the car which is important to my wife who walks with a cane, and very large. My sister's room was on the second floor of the main house. While it wasn't as large, it was every bit as nicely appointed. The breakfast was exceptional, especially the baked items. Marie took care of our every need, including fixing us coffee to go and pastries when we had to rush for the airport before breakfast.

We plan to make our stay at BWI an annual event.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinJackVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a very nice stay and a wonderful breakfast with exceptional homemade jams. Even as vegetarians, we had multiple options and great choices. We stayed in the part of the inn that is the lower floor and it was a bit noisy (the house is very old--quite charming but a bit creaky)--I would try the main house next time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Can't find enough good things to say about the stay. The hospitality, the homey surrounding and the special varieties of breakfast all make it the best B&B experience for us. If we have another chance, we will choose to stay at the Black Walnut Inn. Ellen H.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 600Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We've visited before and will probably visit again. The rooms have just the right touches:homey and very clean. The included breakfast is outstanding as each person's preference is made to order. The baked goods are my favorite. Marie always makes us feel welcomed and cared for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent place: Nice house, easy to find and to park the car, and nice room, very quiet (centralized air conditioning and room on the backyard), outstanding breakfast, friendly host. The best B&B we had during our tour in the East cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreT_Paris_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We come to Amherst at least once a year with family and a Bed & Breakfast is not our usual accommodation of choice but are we glad the other places in the area were booked this year because we stumbled upon a little gem of a B&B. We can't say enough nice things about The Black Walnut Inn. The rooms are beautifully appointed with everything you might need in your stay home away from home not to mention how clean and neat they are. Our breakfast, which couldn't have been better, was a choice of homemade blueberry muffins, sour cream coffee cake, apple turnovers, pancakes, eggs, bacon and sausage from a local smoke house, even homemade gluten free items if you desire.
The inn keeper Marie and her staff are very attentive to your needs. They want to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable and they certainly succeed. If you have the privilege of staying in this wonderful Bed & Breakfast don't forget to purchase one of Marie's homemade jams as a nice keepsake to take home with you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
460 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn

Property: Black Walnut Inn
Address: 1184 N Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1328
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Walnut Inn, fronted by a stately Federal style brick home built in 1820, sits on acres of lawn shaded by tall black walnut trees. Located in historic North Amherst, we're just a few minutes from Amherst College, Deerfield Academy, UMass, and Hampshire College. A delicious homemade breakfast is included with your stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing