We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Breakfasts!”
Review of Black Walnut Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The room was charming and spotless, the breakfasts were filled with homemade items (including bacon produced down the road) and the location was right on the #31 bus to UMASS and Amherst College. We would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jomelni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 186 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

The home made breakfast was amazing, Penny made the most delicious blueberry Muffins. The room was out of this world. All of the staff was very welcoming and friendly. Can't wait to return and bring my family!
Absolutely love it! Best B&B ever.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bernardojcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Warm and friendly, the Black Walnut Inn is an excellent B&B in Amherst, Mass near the UMass campus and local sites of interest. Marie, the owner, was a lovely hostess and great breakfast chef. Loved the freshly made muffins and bread at breakfast each morning! Our room was large with a full bath and half bath. The gas stove kept us toasty warm and provided some nice ambiance. Give the Black Walnut Inn a try if you are in the Amherst area. You will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were really pleased when we arrived at The Black Walnut Inn. There was plenty of parking and the common areas were well decorated. Our room was charming and everything was spotless. We chose the Peterson room as it was on the first/ ground floor next to the guest stting room, my husband suffers badly from jetlag and was likely to wake very early so we thought that he could easily go next door so as not to disturb me. Unfortunately I had a disturbed nights sleep due to the people above us. They came home just before midnight and were moving around up there until gone two. The floor boards in their room were very squeaky and they woke me up and kept me awake.

The breakfast was good although it took a while for us to be acknowledged by the waitress. The owner was friendly but didn't ask us about our night and I felt awkward mentioning the noise.

Overall I think that this is a good B&B but would recommend choosing one of the upper floor rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Inn while visiting our son in Amherst. Marie is gracious and welcoming; you are her friend within minutes of meeting her. Marie not only baked gluten-free muffins for my breakfast, but also shared her special gf flour blend with me. We enjoyed hearing about the inn and meeting her family.

A homey, yet elegant decor adds to the pleasant atmosphere during breakfast. Guests were world wide, yet we found many common connections.

We will return to the Inn on our next trip to Amherst because of the excellence in service, great food & coffee, and most of all, the warm and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Unusually large, well appointed comfortable rooms. Breakfast was superb with several choices for main course. Table was nicely set with raaised trays of choices of freshly baked muffins. I had blueberry pancakes with sausage. Wonderful. My wife had poached egg on home made bread with smoked bacon. Also wonderful. Very pleasant and accomodating inkeepers.

Room Tip: There were several family members there in different room. All were very imprressed and satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the Black Walnut Inn for several nights while bringing our son to college. It was a perfect location--quiet and convenient to all the area colleges as well as to stores for last minute dorm shopping. Marie is friendly and welcoming, and the to-order breakfasts are great--try the local bacon! Too bad parents weekend was already booked solid, or we'd come back to the BWI in October.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PammerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
466 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
181 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn

Address: 1184 N Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1328
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range: $95 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Walnut Inn, fronted by a stately Federal style brick home built in 1820, sits on acres of lawn shaded by tall black walnut trees. Located in historic North Amherst, we're just a few minutes from Amherst College, Deerfield Academy, UMass, and Hampshire College. A delicious homemade breakfast is included with your stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing