We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for college visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Walnut Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great base for college visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the Black Walnut Inn for several nights while bringing our son to college. It was a perfect location--quiet and convenient to all the area colleges as well as to stores for last minute dorm shopping. Marie is friendly and welcoming, and the to-order breakfasts are great--try the local bacon! Too bad parents weekend was already booked solid, or we'd come back to the BWI in October.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PammerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
45
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here while accompanying our two grandsons (and their parents) who were enrolling at Hampshire College. We had three rooms, all of which were charming and comfortable, and ur hostess was gracious and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. I hope the boys stay and graduate and we can visit again,.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pery411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammondsport, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here in August while dropping off our son for college. It was clean, comfortable, relaxing, and beautiful. The breakfasts were delicious - the sour cream coffee cake was to die for! Will definitely stay here on future visits to the area. Very convenient to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amman
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during our visit to Amherst in August when we were dropping off our son to college.
Although we were expecting a charming quaint new england B&B, the beauty, charm, and convenience of the Black Walnut far exceeded our expectations.Our rooms, Uncle Bill's and the Kelleher were HUGE, and so tastefully decorated and the beds beautifully dressed and exceptionally comfortable. I don't think they make'em this way anymore. And we second all others in singing the praises of the delightful homemade breakfast. Last but not least , the innkeeper Marie was a fantastic and welcoming host and her energy and warmth made our stay most pleasant. On our next visit to Amherst , we will not consider staying elsewhere, in spite of the short 8 minute drive to the campus.

Room Tip: The Kelleher room is perfect for a family and can easily fit parents and two children, perhaps more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nino r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was visiting the area to tour Hampshire College with my daughter. She suggested a bed and breakfast near the town, so she could also experience the area along with touring the college. This lodging was clean, fairly quiet, in a beautiful setting, and the food was excellent, with some of the best home baking I have ever tasted. But what set it apart was also the staff, whom my daughter and I enjoyed meeting and getting to know.

We also loved the decor, especially in the common rooms. The addition of complimentary truffles in the guest room was a nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We rented the whole BWI for a long weekend for our family/friends going to our son's wedding. It was a wonderful experience for everyone with no complaints whatsoever. Because of its size, 10 rooms at the inn, we were able to perfectly fit everyones needs, from 1 to 3 people per room. The rooms were all clean and neat, the a/c's worked well everywhere (it was a hot muggy weekend and appreciated by all guest), and was conveniently located. The staff were all very nice. The breakfast was cooked to order and perfect. The sitting area was a nice place to sit and catch up on things. The owner was very nice and accommodating to our needs at all times, even when one of our guests accidentally locked herself out of her room one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowtiebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here in April, and found the place lovely and serene. Marie was wonderful, providing me everything I needed (including a wine glass!). Very large rooms, comfortable bed. And the breakfast was wonderful. Home baked blueberry muffins, eggs, pancakes, all just cooked for each guest individually. The other people staying were very nice to converse with in the morning over breakfast. I'll definitely stay here whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn

Property: Black Walnut Inn
Address: 1184 N Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1328
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Walnut Inn, fronted by a stately Federal style brick home built in 1820, sits on acres of lawn shaded by tall black walnut trees. Located in historic North Amherst, we're just a few minutes from Amherst College, Deerfield Academy, UMass, and Hampshire College. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing