We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Homey Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Walnut Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin Park, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Homey Experience”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was visiting the area to tour Hampshire College with my daughter. She suggested a bed and breakfast near the town, so she could also experience the area along with touring the college. This lodging was clean, fairly quiet, in a beautiful setting, and the food was excellent, with some of the best home baking I have ever tasted. But what set it apart was also the staff, whom my daughter and I enjoyed meeting and getting to know.

We also loved the decor, especially in the common rooms. The addition of complimentary truffles in the guest room was a nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
45
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We rented the whole BWI for a long weekend for our family/friends going to our son's wedding. It was a wonderful experience for everyone with no complaints whatsoever. Because of its size, 10 rooms at the inn, we were able to perfectly fit everyones needs, from 1 to 3 people per room. The rooms were all clean and neat, the a/c's worked well everywhere (it was a hot muggy weekend and appreciated by all guest), and was conveniently located. The staff were all very nice. The breakfast was cooked to order and perfect. The sitting area was a nice place to sit and catch up on things. The owner was very nice and accommodating to our needs at all times, even when one of our guests accidentally locked herself out of her room one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowtiebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here in April, and found the place lovely and serene. Marie was wonderful, providing me everything I needed (including a wine glass!). Very large rooms, comfortable bed. And the breakfast was wonderful. Home baked blueberry muffins, eggs, pancakes, all just cooked for each guest individually. The other people staying were very nice to converse with in the morning over breakfast. I'll definitely stay here whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The black walnut inn was a delightful surprise. the rooms were comfortable and spacious, the breakfast delicious, with eggs made to order, home-baked pastries, fresh coffee and a choice of several dishes (french toast, pancakes, etc.). Breakfast with other guests made our meal more lively and interesting. Marie, the owner, was gracious and hospitable, going out of her way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Her staff in the kitchen were also friendly. When I asked how blueberry muffins were made, Rachel gave me the recipe along with a smile. I definitely would return to the Black Walnut Inn when I visit Amherst again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwm351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

A friend recommended this charming B&B to us, and it is a real treat. Website info was helpful and assistance on the phone was also very gracious.
The Black Walnut Inn is located just off a main drag, but the rooms are very quiet. The building is historic (1740's), but the accomodations are quite comfortable. Large rooms include hair dryer, iron, and ironing board. FREE wi-fi and central a/c.
The hearty New England breakfast is included in the price, and the staff are very nice.
The prices are very reasonable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kv450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Not much more expensive than a room in a Holiday Inn Express or a Fairfield Inn, the Black Walnut Inn is in every way worth the few extra dollars. The house is historic and has been thoroughly rebuilt and renovated inside with great attention to historical detail. (You can read about the history of the house in the sitting room.) If our room, The Poet's Room, was a good sample of the bedrooms, you can be comfortable anywhere in the house--including the sitting room downstairs and the dining room. The bathroom with the Poet's Room is modern and very serviceable, A/C keeps the place cool in the summer, and there's very ample and safe parking for the guests.
The location in North Amherst puts the Black Walnut in easy reach of the UMass and Amherst College and also in easy reach of relaxing country drives to the north and east (country churches, streams, wooded hills). For a short walk, just step out and enjoy the village with its own country church and quiet neighborhood.
What really makes the Black Walnut special is the service. Breakfasts are cooked to order and are delicious. When I asked for gluten-free food, Ruth (with a little advance notice) cooked up wonderful muffins just for me .

Room Tip: Some rooms in the house are up a fairly steep stairway and are worth climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TempeTraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night while touring colleges. The property is quaint and pretty. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and it was HUGE. The room was very well-kept. The staff was friendly and the property was lovely. The weather was excessively hot that week, but the AC and fans kept us perfectly comfortable. Breakfast had many options and was good.

The only drawback was that our room backed to a street that turned out to be quite popular with people who like to listen to loud music with heavy bass in their cars. Usually you have to head to south central LA to hear that much bass. It made it difficult for me to sleep as I am a light sleeper.

Otherwise it was a perfect visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyyveyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
446 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
166 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn

Property: Black Walnut Inn
Address: 1184 N Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1328
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Walnut Inn, fronted by a stately Federal style brick home built in 1820, sits on acres of lawn shaded by tall black walnut trees. Located in historic North Amherst, we're just a few minutes from Amherst College, Deerfield Academy, UMass, and Hampshire College. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing