We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family friendly bed and breakfast”
Review of Black Walnut Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful family friendly bed and breakfast”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We came to the Black Walnut Inn for a last minute July fourth weekend getaway. We prefer not to stay at the lower end chain hotels that are quite common in the area, but found many bed and breakfasts do not allow young children, and we were traveling with our four year old daughter. We were happy to find that the Black Walnut Inn had two family friendly rooms, and Marie spent time with me on the phone helping us determine which of the rooms would better suit our needs, and was quick to offer the use of their barn for bike storage. We arrived and were pleasantly surprised to find a large open yard with a swingset, two handcrafted swings hanging from trees, and several other toys for our daughter to play with. Breakfast was made to order and delicious, and when our daughter became restless from sitting at a table with strangers, Marie was kind enough to not only let her sit in the room adjacent to the dining room, but found some age appropriate books and sat and read with her so we could enjoy our breakfast. We were so happy with the thoughtful and attentive service provided and would definitely recommend the Inn to families looking for a warm and charming place to stay in Amherst.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
46
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Black Walnut Inn is a very pretty and amazingly well kept property. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the proprietors really care about ensuring you have a wonderful stay. The breakfast is delicious - homemade jams, homemade muffins, and they use local, organic smokehouses for the bacon and the sausage, as well as local organic free range eggs. We stayed in a suite that was bigger than many NYC apartments, but had an opportunity to tour the house and view the other, more traditional rooms - which were also very spacious in comparison to most B&Bs. Other pluses - very convenient to town, has ample parking, and a really cool old barn on property. Marie is a very kind person and an excellent conversationalist. We highly, highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyo_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed at the Black Walnut Inn for a long weekend. We were at UMass for a lacrosse tournament and had 3 teeneagers. The rooms were big with TV's and the breakfast was awesome. There is plenty of room for kids to run around outside - you could even set up a BBQ if you wanted for multiple families.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew_desalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We just returned from 1 night at the Black Walnut Inn. We stayed in Uncle Bill's room where we found the accomodations spacious, comfortable and full of light. Marie, her son and the staff make everyone feel at home. The cooked-to-order breakfast with home baked breads and fresh juice could not be beat. The cost is also very reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABCGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at The Black Walnut Inn. The Inn and people are warm and inviting. The food is delicious and plentiful (including homemade cookies on the dining table when you come back in the evening). We very much enjoyed Marie the owner and her friendly staff. We were in Amherst for family weekend at the University of Massachusetts Amherst and enjoyed the breakfast conversation of the other guests who were mostly parents of students as well. The location was convenient to everything we wanted to do during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Such a great find! We were greeted with a note welcoming us (we arrived after office hours) and a couple of fresh cookies. The room was generously sized, charmingly decorated, and clean. The whole inn just reeks of New England. As a former longtime Bostonian resident now living on the west coast, this is EXACTLY what my husband and I were looking for to start our vacation.
We met our hostess the next morning at breakfast. She was busy but made all the guests feel welcome nonetheless. Loved that she served fresh baked apple pie - you know you're on vacation when you have pie for breakfast! Eggs and fresh muffins were all tasty. And the homemade bread and local sausage were delish as well. You won't leave the table hungry!
If we ever pass thru Amherst again, we'll definitely be staying at Black Walnut. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fascin8d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I reccomend that black walnut in to anyone seeking a comfortable place to relax with excellent service, convenient access to town center, and a great breakfast. Many homemade options for breakfast. Large selection!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forevrmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
460 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn

Property: Black Walnut Inn
Address: 1184 N Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1328
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Walnut Inn, fronted by a stately Federal style brick home built in 1820, sits on acres of lawn shaded by tall black walnut trees. Located in historic North Amherst, we're just a few minutes from Amherst College, Deerfield Academy, UMass, and Hampshire College. A delicious homemade breakfast is included with your stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing