We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a friendly, comfortable stay”

Allen House Victorian Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allen House Victorian Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Always a friendly, comfortable stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I visited the Allen House again this weekend. I have stayed there and at the Amherst Inn, owned by the same wonderful couple, several times through my time as a student and alum of nearby Amherst College. Both the Allen and House and the Amherst Inn provide a very convenient spot for exploring the town and surrounding areas (you can walk into Amherst center from both properties although the Amherst Inn is slightly closer). The owners are extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is a bit more special than you would expect. For Easter Sunday, we were treated to a delicious, springy eggs benedict. The decor is certainly over-the-top Victorian but the rooms are extremely comfortable, especially the cozy beds. There is nothing you will miss here!

Room Tip: If you want to be closer to Amherst center, I would choose to stay at the Amherst Inn, owned by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    26
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
34
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband and I had booked a reservation very last minute and quite late, but felt extremely welcomed when we arrived. We were given a very nice room with beautiful views of Emily Dickinsons family home. The housekeeper was very helpful about giving us local directions and advice on where to get good food late. The room itself was absolutely beautiful. It had plenty of space and a very large soft bed. The room was called the "turret" because it had stunning window views from every angle. We had a private bathroom which was very clean. The breakfast was homemade and delicious. This B&B is by far the best getaway in Western Mass.

Room Tip: Any room they have is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesliemc3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our extended family took over the inn for a three-day weekand on the occasion of a birthday celebration, and we were very pleased. We had all six rooms. The decor is authentically Victorian (it's won several notable awards) and is nothing if not fully executed, from the spectacular stuffed peacock over the mantelpiece to the intensely detailed wallpaper in every room to the Victorian knick-knacks in every corner. Inkeepers Alan and Ann were consistently attentative but not intrusive. Alan prepared wonderful breakfasts. It was too cold to do much walking this January weekend, but downtown Amherst is within an easy uphill stroll. There was plenty of heat, and for those wholike their sleeping quarters cool, the beds were piled high with quilts and comforters. During the interludes when the whole gang was present, we took over the front parlor for conversation, games, and a little football watching, while some used the free wi-fi to check up on email or work. The bathrooms are modest but serviceable. All in all, it was very congenial and we had a fine weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was one of our first bed and breakfast experiences. We stayed for one night during a brief overnight visit to the area, but we couldn't have asked for anything more for our stay. The house is beautifully preserved and decorated in Victorian style, but has all of the modern amenities you would want, including comfortable beds, pillows, plenty of heat and hot water (much appreciated during the cold December night we stayed), free wi-fi access, and even an iPod dock in each room. The breakfast was very good, and the service was accommodating and super friendly. This was a great experience in a great area, with an extra touch of hominess added by Panda, the friendly house cat!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamT388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The Inn is beautiful. The breakfast was unusually good, particularly the sausages. Wish I could find them somewhere.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graypatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We spend a wonderful, very comfortable night at the Allen House so my son could look at colleges in the area. It is very convenient to everything in Amherst, and the hostess could not have been nicer. I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Alan, who runs the Inn, was very pleasant and eager to please. The house is dark inside with lots of antiques covering almost every surface. On a few nights, there was noise of kids on the street outside. Breakfast was good. Not great, but good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjohnhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.5 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
460 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
7.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allen House Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allen House Victorian Inn

Property: Allen House Victorian Inn
Address: 599 Main St, Amherst, MA 01002-2409
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Allen House Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allen House Victorian Hotel Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing