We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still disappointing”
Review of Chez Albert

Chez Albert
Ranked #18 of 114 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Still disappointing”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited shortly after they moved to the new location and thought that both the food and service had drastically declined in quality. We thought we'd give it another try but were disappointed again-- the food was mediocre and overly salty, and the service was inattentive and disengaged. Totally not worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PenelopeCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    34
    23
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing Spring Menu!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in on Friday night for a meal at the bar. Jim and I both had the steel head trout piled with fried onions and salsa verde, which was divine! The bartender is great, the maître'd is a classic. Great food, great company, what more could one ask for?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice French food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The host, Emmanuel Proust, is a friendly, enthusiastic and helpful person who really adds to the experience. He recommended a special appetizer of ravioli stuffed with frogs legs that was delicious. I had a great duck with polenta. My husband had a chicken fricasee, which had a nice taste but wasn't what we would consider fricasee - it seemed more roasted with a sauce. But overall a very nice experience, and one of the few good restaurants in the area, I think.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WBird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield CT
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Typical French with bistro setting”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food was as one would expect at a French bistro and was very good; some will find it a little pricey for the portions and, as is typical, everything is a la carte. The scallops were very good (4 scallops for the entree); the escargot appetizer was good but seemed lacking in robust flavor. The ambiance was very nice and their new location is larger than their old location but still quite small and intimate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 66birchpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An amazing French restaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I came here for my fiance's birthday and it was amazing. The food was beyond excellent. They were able to accommodate my dietary restrictions (gluten free) and were able to steer me in the right direction when it came to which selection would be best even without gluten products being used.

My fiance loves the rose water martini that they serve here. His only disappointment was that they did not have the ingredients to make a sour apple martini. They also had an excellent wine selection.

I was very confused by some of the other reviews saying that it had a pub like atmosphere and no table linens. Maybe if you sat at the bar you might feel that way but the bar area does not really interfere with the dining area. There maybe be one or two tables that you can see the bar if you sat at them. And the lack of linens, the tables are made of copper sheets. It gives it an industrial feel. You wouldn't put linens on them.

Also the main picture and address are wrong. They moved to 178 N Pleasant St, Amherst. Past CVS and the Henion Bakery on the left.

I would highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyD_01337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Albert also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Hadley, Hampshire County
 

Been to Chez Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing