We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing French restaurant”
Review of Chez Albert

Chez Albert
Ranked #18 of 116 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bernardston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An amazing French restaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I came here for my fiance's birthday and it was amazing. The food was beyond excellent. They were able to accommodate my dietary restrictions (gluten free) and were able to steer me in the right direction when it came to which selection would be best even without gluten products being used.

My fiance loves the rose water martini that they serve here. His only disappointment was that they did not have the ingredients to make a sour apple martini. They also had an excellent wine selection.

I was very confused by some of the other reviews saying that it had a pub like atmosphere and no table linens. Maybe if you sat at the bar you might feel that way but the bar area does not really interfere with the dining area. There maybe be one or two tables that you can see the bar if you sat at them. And the lack of linens, the tables are made of copper sheets. It gives it an industrial feel. You wouldn't put linens on them.

Also the main picture and address are wrong. They moved to 178 N Pleasant St, Amherst. Past CVS and the Henion Bakery on the left.

I would highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyD_01337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    34
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Best in Amherst”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you're looking for fine food in a quiet, tasteful atmosphere, then this is the best in Amherst. The prices are about the same as other Amherst/NoHo quality restaurants. Chez Albert has French food, oysters, and good wines.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DinnerTonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wish for more...”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

When Chez Albert opened, it was one of the new "adult" places in town and served nice, well handled, if simple, food that was reasonably priced.

Now, it is just really over-priced. I find the food pretty meh, bland, uninteresting. Portions are tiny and the tasty parts of the dishes (sauces, etc.) are just a 1/2 a teaspoon on the plate.

The people are lovely, service is attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginevre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced good enough food”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is one of Amherst's pricier establishments and so I had high expectations which were not met, unfortunately. Four of us sat at an outdoor table, which was pleasant. The service was not great. The food was absolutely tasty but the portions were miniscule. The main course of codfish appeared to be about 3 ounces and was accompanied by just about nothing. If you want a fancy night out, I'd recommend The Lumbar Yard or Bistro 63.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
249 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good food but nothing special”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner at Chez Albert tonight for my birthday. I was hoping for something special, unique. The food was good but could have been gotten at any fine dining restaurant. My husband had the salt cod beignets which he said were tasty. He and my son had the salmon special for their main entree. It was fine but not very flavorful. I had the haddock with mushrooms which was fine but not terribly unique. Desserts were had by all and would rate as average. By the time we left around 8:30pm the restaurant was full and getting noisy. Would think about just doing appetizers next time.

Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Albert also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Chez Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing