We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Albert

Chez Albert
Ranked #18 of 116 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Montague, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I try to sneak away once a week or so for a casual and invariably lovely lunch at the bar at Chez Albert. It's hard to pick a Meal that stands out because they are all delicious; salmon or beef tartine and frites, rabbit ragout, one of the delicious and surprisingly light cassoulets or an omlette stuffed with gruyere and pork confit.... The service is spectacular; attentive but not hovering, and Emanuelle who runs the front of the house makes every customer feel welcome and perfectly cared for. At $11.00 - $15.00 for lunch entrees and 8-10 for a glass of wine, it's also incredibly reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    34
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Reading reviews of this restaurant led me to believe that it would offer a superior dining experience. At the end of the day I would have settled for reasonably comfortable and unremarkable. Unfortunately, Chez Albert combines a charmless atmosphere (sports bar and big screen included, tables sans cloths) with uninspired, tired, dishes. Polite queries about availability of off-menu choices to meet special dietary needs were met with derision, as were questions about dishes advertised in the menu published on their web-site but not available on their current list of offerings. It seemed they were determined to expend the absolute minimum amount of effort or creativity in satisfying our party's requests. I have dined at many humble establishments which did so much more with so much less ---and charged far less in the bargain.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travlelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

When I called for a reservation, I asked that I receive a nice table as it was a romantic evening with my significant other. We were given a delightfully private booth, a perfect choice. That was the beginning of a fantastic meal - terrific service (efficient and friendly), great food (the shitake/corn sauce over the striped bass was outstanding! loved the sweetbread appetizer and the frites w/ aioli), and a delightful decor. Plus, it was August and the schools weren't in session so the scene was laid back and relaxing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lescaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
318 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“fantastic meal, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I jogged by Chez Albert an hour before our intended dinner hour to ask if they could accommodate us. Emmanuel, a gourmet par excellence, said DE RIEN and I hurried home to shower and present ourselves for dinner. Luckily, he was our waiter and his love for all things gourmet guided our choices of food - my husband ordered the hanger steak (which was amazing with it's bordelaise sauce) and I had the cold corn soup with lobster which was also exceptional. Even the garlic/white bean dip with bread was delicious along with the innovate cocktail menu (my drink has chartreuse, bourbon and red vermouth) - in short, a memorable meal from start to finish with impeccable service, fantastic fresh food and a great atmosphere. It's a few hours later and I still feel elated thanks to a great meal. Not at all stuffy -you'll feel part of the family. The bar tender was also a passionate foodie - a real gift on this trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value and choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good service and very nice food. There are several nice restaurants in Amherst, but this was one of our favourites

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 497Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Albert also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Chez Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing