We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic meal, great service”
Review of Chez Albert

Chez Albert
Ranked #12 of 115 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“fantastic meal, great service”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I jogged by Chez Albert an hour before our intended dinner hour to ask if they could accommodate us. Emmanuel, a gourmet par excellence, said DE RIEN and I hurried home to shower and present ourselves for dinner. Luckily, he was our waiter and his love for all things gourmet guided our choices of food - my husband ordered the hanger steak (which was amazing with it's bordelaise sauce) and I had the cold corn soup with lobster which was also exceptional. Even the garlic/white bean dip with bread was delicious along with the innovate cocktail menu (my drink has chartreuse, bourbon and red vermouth) - in short, a memorable meal from start to finish with impeccable service, fantastic fresh food and a great atmosphere. It's a few hours later and I still feel elated thanks to a great meal. Not at all stuffy -you'll feel part of the family. The bar tender was also a passionate foodie - a real gift on this trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    35
    23
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value and choice”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good service and very nice food. There are several nice restaurants in Amherst, but this was one of our favourites

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 497Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, MA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a treasure”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

our favorite restaurant, we come here often and it never disappoints. always a couple of interesting specials and the menu changes seasonally. especially like his use of local greens and subtle spices.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank josaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious food, altho a tad pretentious.”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very nice restaurant, but not really a very French restaurant. Lots of offerings of fried foods, although the sweetbread appetizer was scrumptious.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravlelingFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, but some inconsistencies.”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Here with a large party, and most everything was very good. Many of the specialty cocktails are too sweet, but good wine list. Most of the dishes were very good, but a few things were over or undercooked. Tempted to send a couple of things back, but we were all sharing so decided we had plenty to eat. A good place, but make your choices wisely.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pigeonherder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Albert also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Chez Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing