We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old stand by for the area”
Review of The Pub

The Pub
Ranked #70 of 115 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An old stand by for the area”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The food will neither wow you or make you say yuck but the good old true pub setting is an old time favorite.

Helpful?
Thank fixmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee,Ma.
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“I Would have to rate this one Average”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I visited the Pub for the first time on a Friday night, the place was busy enough but we eat early 5pm. The atmosphere was fine we were shown to a booth, and it was roomy. I ordered the turkey dinner, and my husband fried scallops. The turkey and gravy was tasty, the garlic mashed potato, a little bland, but creamy. There was also mixed veggies, which had a lot of flavor, for me the best part of my meal. The stuffing I did not like at all, too much seasoning, but everyone has there own tastes when it come to stuffing. My husband liked his meal, we didn't think it was excellent really, average, these were simple meals. Both came with salads, which were fresh, plenty to eat, portion wise. The price we also thought was on the mark, for what we ordered. The service was good to above average. The only annoyance there was......there was fruit flies at, or around our table area, I kept having to shoooo them away, while we were eating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulabc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrific help”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely, friendly waitress made a good recommendation of a local (regional?) beer and a cup of warm clam chowder -- excellent on a cold, rainy sightseeing day!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank magentabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Had a drink - but the food didn't look great.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place looked promising and it was busy - outside. Had a drink while we thought about eating - but having seen the bog standard range of food that others were eating really didn't fancy it so went to Bertuccis down the road. Great alternative choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western mass
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We used to enjoy an occasional meal here and, while it was never spectacular, it was usually a reliable place to get a decent pub-type meal. My recent visit there, however, was more than disappointing. My lunch order was for a portabella burger, which I often had in the past and it was usually quite tasty and satisfying. This time, however, it was definitely not. The mushroom was obviously not fresh - tasted funny so I checked it out and saw the tell-tale wrinkles on the cap denoting it's having been around for a while. In the past, The Pub had the most delicious French Fries beautifully cut basket-weave style, crispy and delicious. This time they were long shoe-string cuts of something that tasted little like french fries... I do believe they were not freshly made and both looked and tasted like they had been reheated leftovers. I broke one open and it looked most peculiar... like little white strands of something that did not resemble potatoes. This experience was so disappointing because The Pub used to be an old standby.
But I don't believe we will be dining there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Urther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pub also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to The Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing