We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and breakfast! Wonderful hosts!”
Review of Amherst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

You will find many comfortable Bed and Breakfasts in New England, but you won't find better hosts. I recently spent three pleasant nights and an extra weekend snowbound by a blizzard at the Amherst Inn. All through the storm, I was looked after. Even when no other guests were at the Inn, my breakfast was provided. I was assured that I could have lunches and dinners--free of charge. The inn keepers looked in on me regularly to make sure that I was doing well. When I departed for home, I forgot my son's hat, and it was mailed to my house with only a phone call. The Inn is lovely; the rooms are large and well-furnished. The bed was a treat, furnished with the same mattress--I was told--the President uses at the White House. But the hosts are what made my stay so enjoyable. You will love the Amherst Inn.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 272 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent our 40th wedding anniversary in the Cyrus room of this well appointed inn. We were impressed with the lavish array of fine period antiques throughout the house. Rooms were immaculate. Service was very friendly. Beds were very comfortable. We especially liked the location which was close enough to walk to town. Be sure to visit the Mead art museum on the Amherst College Campus.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curleylocks333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Well run traditional B&B - excellent breakfast variety, lots of flexibility for arrival and departure, and daily room freshening. Great place to settle in while touring the area or checking out colleges. Location is fantastic, walking distance to downtown Amherst with restaurants and shops; two blocks from Amherst College.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were exploring the Amherst area and were fortunate to be able to stay at the Amherst Inn. It is a lovingly restored old home with beautifully done rooms. Spacious and airy, though, to balance out the heavy Victorian pieces. We chose a warm and sunny room because the weather was so cold. Despite that, we had a good walk into the center of town--very close. We explored the shops, and enjoyed dinner in a tiny Thai restaurant. So many eatery choices though! Wonderful college town. . though the students were on winter break at the time.

After our chilly walk, we were happy to return to our warm room--it even had an electric fireplace which was easy to operate. It was a beautiful room and I loved the color scheme. The bed was a massive carved piece of furniture--well polished and well kept. Such a contrast to the flimsy stuff that is for sale today. These pieces were built to last for generations. The big bed was comfortable, too--the mattress soft but firm. The room had other lovely pieces as well as nice decorative touches. The place was blissfully quiet. I was actually a bit too warm, as it turned out. Not a bad problem, though, with single digit temps outside.

We had our own bathroom and it was fine. The water was hot and plentiful.

Breakfast had choices--eggs any style, Ann's delicious crepes with different topping possibilities, fruit, coffee cake, pastries, cereal,yogurt, juice, coffee and tea--variety to please any appetite. The conversation was good. We were interested in learning about the area, and Ann and the other guests were very helpful. We had come to the right place!

Alas, the Emily Dickenson House was closed for the winter season, though, so we'll just have to return. . . .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights (Jan 19-21) when we brought our daughter to Hampshire College. The place is gorgeous; beautiful furnishings, delicious breakfast, great atmosphere and best of all, wonderful hosts! Ann and Alan are most generous and are quite knowledgeable of the house and the area.

We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The staff and area of this great B&B is just another reason to stay at this beautiful place.it is conveniently walking distance to the town and it's cool shops,as well as the Emily Dickinson homestead.for literary buffs,you must stay here!the service and private feeling of a time were television and smart phones didn't exist,is just another reason to stay at this pleasant place.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This Victorian B&B is a great place to stay when visiting Amherst. It's across the street from the Emily Dickinson house and just a few blocks away from lots of shops and terrific restaurants in downtown Amherst. My room was beautifully decorated, comfortable, and spacious. Ann, the innkeeper, was very accommodating and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. I will stay there again when I go back to Amherst.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 4 in Northampton
456 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
8.5 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Inn

Address: 257 Main St, Amherst, MA 01002-2335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range: $132 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amherst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Hotel Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing