We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best yet”
Review of Amherst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
“Best yet”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We found this place late in the day on our way into Amherst. From the first phonecall the owners were increadibly helpful and went out of their way to see that our arrival was completely hassle-free. The historic homestead has been lovingly restored, and you can tell that the owners' priority is ensuring guests love the place as much as they do. They saw to our every need, while respecting our privacy, and went above and beyond in ensuring we were able to watch the presidential debate (with a hot tea and home-cooked cookie from the 24hr refreshments stand) in the most impressive living room I've been in in the US. The full, included breakfast was in every way imaginable a full breakfast, and we left feeling so happy with our experience. Even after checkout we were encouraged to leave the van parked at the inn and explore the town on foot, because parking in town is heavily regulated. Five stars and my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    39
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
79
76
45
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arcata
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Unfortunately we could only spend one night at this delightful classic bed and breakfast. The quaint period furniture and the leisurely pace gave us a very welcome feeling.

Our hostess, Ann, had an awesome breakfast set out and it was delicious.

We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I just traveled to Amherst with my mom and aunt to visit the Emily Dickinson Museum. We chose the Amherst Inn primarily because of its location directly across the street from Emily Dickinson. However, upon arrival, we immediately fell in love with the inn. The Inn is stunning inside and out. It is full to the brim with antiques and other little treasures. The Inn staff was incredibly accommodating. Our room was spotless and cozy and did I mention the breakfast?! The breakfast was divine. We plan on returning every year to stay. You ought to do the same! What a lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, MA
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stay at the Amherst Inn, or its cousin down the street, the Allen House, several times a year when we visit our son who goes to school in Amherst. It is amazingly convenient: just a short walk to the center of town and Amherst College (The Allen House is a few blocks farther away.) Both inns are clean, nicely restored Victorian homes. The innkeepers treat us like friends. Breakfast is very good. There are several spots in both inns where you can sit outside on a balcony or porch and watch the parade of students up and down Main Street. One evening a pair of baby raccoons fearlessly entertained us while we drank champagne on the porch. The Amherst Inn is our home away from home when we're in Amherst.

Room Tip: While very nice, the rooms on the Main Street (front) of the house can be noisy from car traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlarson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montclair
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This Inn was, indeed, a 'find' for us. In just the 2 days we were thee, Ann and Allen just couldn't be more accomodating and each went out of the way to please! Since this trip was a literary adventure and Emily Dickinson the focal point, what more than to have our 2nd floor lovely and quaint room right across the street from Emily's Homestead and Everglades! Ann and Allen highlighted great spots of interest for us, and the sightseeing just outrageous! We must return! Breakfast is buffet and just terrific. This is a real gem! We're returning in the fall!

Room Tip: They are all clean, charming, and comfortable; check out their websight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdglc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

An authentic victorian B&B that was clean and cute. Grounds were well-cared for and the center of town was a short walk away. Emily Dickinson House is just across the street. Despite the record heat, the a/c kept the bedroom comfortable, although the downstairs was quite hot. Innkeepers were friendly, breakfast was filling, brochures and reading materials appreciated, and I would definitely return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank temeraire53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have had the opportunity to spend several stays in Amherst over the Summer. We discovered the Amherst Inn and Allen House and we can't say enough about both of them.

They are both owned and operated by the same couple who restored both houses to their pristine late 18th century perfection - amazing wallpaper, hand painted/stenciled ceilings, moldings, antique furniture, carpets, stained woodwork, paintings and prints, books - it is simply breathtaking. It's the opportunity to visit a period museum except you get to live in it and sit in the chairs. Like others, we stayed in several rooms (and toured most of the rest) and it is an incredible experience.

The beds are extremely comfortable and the owners, Ann and Alan, are full of knowledge about the art and architecture and antigues of the late 19th century/early 20th century. The inns are their passion and they love to share it.

The Emily Dickinson museum is located across the street and central Amherst is just a few minute walk. We really enjoyed visiting the museum with it's two houses and wonderful guided tours, including a self-guided audio garden with readings of her poetry. It was so convenient that we actually visited it several times.

In our second trip the Amherst was full so we stayed at the Allan house. It is a little further down the road and a little less convenient to town so when it was first proposed we were apprehensive . However, once we saw it we were in awe - it is also immaculately restored and the rooms are simply stunning with each room based on a different late 19th century artist/designer. Now in our third trip we are there again and enjoying different rooms and just hanging out in our own museum.

So each house has it's charm - and be sure to experience both of them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComfortSeeker595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Inn

Property: Amherst Inn
Address: 257 Main St, Amherst, MA 01002-2335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amherst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Hotel Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing