We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer selection and delicious food”
Review of Amherst Brewing Company - CLOSED

Amherst Brewing Company
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Garrison, NY
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great beer selection and delicious food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband is a real beer lover, so we ignored the negative reviews here, and are very happy we did! The beer sampler was great and service was friendly and attentive. Both the ABC burger and the fish sandwich were quite tasty - fresh, flavorful, with crisp sweet potato fries and a delicious side salad with homemade dressing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    56
    39
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Service - Good Burger”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Emma is the ideal waitperson - professional, easy on the eyes, sense of humor. Who could ask for more. Food was good and all had a good time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westsidebernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Went with a big group, 12 people. They sat us immediately around 6 on a Saturday. Beer was delicious! I had a seasonal special: Brass Door Blonde, a lighter amber beer. Yum! Then I had a mesclun salad with steak and honey cilantro line dressing. Delicious! My husband ordered a shepherd's pie with the most tender beef brisket that was so moist and super fluffy mashed potatoes. He raved about it! Finished it off with a double chocolate cheese cake. Our server was great making sure everyone had what they needed and was very prompt and attentive. He even split up the check for everyone at the end quickly and accurately. Great place! I go to Amherst annually for a convention and will gladly return next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYfoodie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for Beer - OK for Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I enjoy going to ABC for beers with friends/family and sitting near the bar area... I dislike the new location, as the restaurant area is a bit "soulless", and being a bit closer to UMass certainly less targeted to the over 30 crowd.

The food is OK, appropriate to price and bar atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank aprilptz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pity the new server . . . .”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great selection of freshly brewed beer. Large menu, good food. Have always had good service - until this time. Strongly suspect new server who quickly became overwhelmed and brought food items late or not at all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amherst Brewing Company also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing