We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut Above”
Review of Oriental Flavor

Oriental Flavor
Ranked #12 of 114 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Cut Above”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I love good Chinese food and the food at Oriental Flavor is always good, way better than a neighborhood Chinese restaurant. The veggies are fresh and cooked to order, the soup is delicious. Every time I am there, there are many Chinese patrons which I take to be an endorsement. Service is attentive. Affordable for the many college students in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucypower48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Adams, MA
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great treat”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband is addicted to Asian food and this time he came up with a very good and authentic restaurant. We dropped in for a late lunch. They have an interesting menu with dishes I have not seen outside of a large city Asian restaurant. There is an interesting assortment of Dim Sum and appetizers. We chose the Pan-Seared Turnip Cakes which I had enjoyed in the past and found these to be nicely crisped with a rich creamy turnip body. We added Steamed Bean Curd Sheet Rolls, again very tasty, and a spicy tofu dish, Mapo Tofu. The Mapo Tofu was delicious if you like spicy. Best of all we could see many more tempting sounding dishes on their menu and we are anxious to return to try more dishes. They served a good Jasmine tea with the meal and the choice of white or brown rice. The staff was pleasant and were helpful with explanations and recommendations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyb11934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FINALLY!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Finally a Chinese restaurant that knows how to cook without sugar and starch, and still make a complex, flavorful, succulent dish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacescrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oriental Flavor is a Chinese treasure that will earn its place on your "favorites" list.”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The specialties offered at Oriental Flavor are the traditional dishes offering "that taste of home" to the valley's Asian population and all those who love authentic Asian food. Everything is homemade, and the dishes are creatively presented in the true Chinese tradition. The stir-fried dishes are beautifully presented, with sauces that are imaginative and layered with flavor. The noodle soups are absolutely delicious, each with a unique and rich flavorful broth that both complements and unifies the components. These are the noodle soups that have kept us warm and satisfied for hours on cold winter afternoons. A must-try appetizer is the seaweed salad, the best we've had. Oriental Flavor is fast becoming one of the area's most popular restaurants, not only for the authenticity of the cuisine, but also for the friendly and knowledgeable service. Oriental Flavor will quickly become your neighborhood go-to place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2panhandlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Chinese food”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had our daughter's post graduation lunch here. The food was excellent. They had a good selection of meat and vegetarian dishes. The steamed pork dumplings were delicious, as was the Kung Pao Chicken, the Green beans and fried rice. The pork buns were the best I have ever had. The decor of the restaurant is fairly simple, and from the outside it does not look like anything special, but the food is way above your standard local Chinese place. The whole meal was delicious, I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cararmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Flavor also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Oriental Flavor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing