We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere in downtown Amherst”
Review of Judie's

Judie's
Ranked #2 of 114 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere in downtown Amherst”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had the Salmon Saute, very tasty with lemon tang. Offer something called PopTop which is a bread which is filled with air and comes with Apple Butter: apparently this is a favorite of the locals. I tasted it and was not impressed, and stayed with the French bread provided.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank IrvingPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    201
    65
    31
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Eclectic Restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was going to describe this as a "great, eclectic little restaurant", but it's not so little. Located in downtown Amherst, it has great atmosphere and delicious food. Definitely not your run-of-the-mill chain restaurant.

They bill themselves as the "Home of the Popover". Among other offerings, they have 5 dishes, each served with a popover. I had the chicken and pasta with popover, and I have to say it was excellent. The freshly-baked popover comes with butter and apple butter. I tried both and it was great either way. They also sell the apple butter for $6.50 per jar and of course I bought one.

I was visiting the area for the college art museums (Amherst College is less than a mile away, nice art museum there) and Paradise City Craft Fair over in Northhampton. This was the second time I've been to Judie's, and I look forward to a return visit.

Note; I gave it a "poor" for "Bar Scene" because it's not a "Club" sort of place, it's not a negative comment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, large portions”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Went here with family for lunch. Service was great. Food portions were huge - everyone enjoyed their dishes: Chicken breast club with popover, Turkey Pop Pie, Chicken Caesar Salad and Cheeseburger. Lots of leftovers!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Very relaxed setting in an idyllic College town. Enjoying wonderful food with wonderful service is a real winner. The salads alone makes makes every very Special .A must to enjoy when in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Hibike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown CT
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Judies restaurant is great it has a unique menu and all the choices seems great it is hard to decide. Everything looks and sounds delicious. The popovers are great. A must try

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Judie's also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Judie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing