We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amherst institution. Always good.”
Review of Judie's

Judie's
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An Amherst institution. Always good.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Went back to Amherst to see the UMass Minutemen play basketball. Had to make a stop at the Amherst institution - Judie's. Always good, always consistent. Popovers are a must. Extensive menu, including kids. Bar area is fun if you have to wait. A solid choice in Amherst.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddyFatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    204
    67
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new haven, ct
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Judie's is perfect”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Judie's was amazing -- my first trip was on 12/30/13. Popovers are a rare treat and I loved them. The meal was delicious, the beet salad sublime, and our waiter was a treasure. We went early (5 pm) which worked out great as there was a long line when we left. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RFMezzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I've never had a bad meal at Judies. Her soups are especially delicious, but so are her sandwiches, the popovers, the salads and creative hot dishes. Yummy cocktails and sangria as well. Judy herself is very personable and takes great pride in providing good food and good service at reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spicegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A Popover is Just a Popover”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We went to Judie's with great expectations for their popovers. We were disappointed. They were good but they were just a popover. The beet salad was more impressive. Sliced beets in shredded romaine and field greens with bleu cheese, candied bacon and house made peanut brittle. Excellent! Overall the food was very good and the service fine. One thing we did notice and was impressed by is the way they cleaned the tables. They used a spray disinfectant and paper towels which they threw away after use. Not enough restaurants do that. We'll definitely go back again to try some of the other interesting items from the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinJackVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best ORIGINAL Food Anywhere!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you are looking for meat and potatoes or fried clams this is not your place. But if innovative, delicious dishes like lobster ravioli in a vodka sauce or a goat chees praline salad this is the place for you. The entire menu is loaded with unique and delicious appetizers and entrees. Take a walk through her (yes, there really is a Judy) on-line menu to see what I mean.

We're local and have eaten at Judie's a hundred times and have never been disappointed. Her staff is well trained, the drinks are unique and the her menu is chock full of items you will not find anywhere else. Judie's is a unique an unforgettable dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saddlebum042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Judie's also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Judie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing