We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of he most beautiful grounds in New England”
Review of Amherst College

Amherst College
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of he most beautiful grounds in New England”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

You don't have to be a student of Amherst to fully enjoy the beauty of the campus. Driving through the incredible building and grounds take you back to another place in time.

Helpful?
3 Thank fixmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montclair
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The search for archival Dickinson”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great research librarian for the Emily Dion cckinson special collections on the campus.Their holdings are phenomenal!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rdglc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVELY LOVELY”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Beautiful grounds and buildings. Mead Art centre has some wonderful paintings, and a fantastic old section that is a joy to discover.
The Chapel is a great example of New England church architecture.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Watch the time of year ...”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I came for a teacher's seminar, and while the campus itself is beautiful -- just go to the southern field and sit in an adirondack chair in the shade, and you will see what I mean -- the housing and food service facilities are lacking for adult functions. We were housed in a dormitory that had no air conditioning -- even in good weather, those old dormitories get quite hot -- and had shared bathrooms (2 showers for 20 people). We were issued box fans, which helped the heat, but not the horrible beds. The beds were plastic covered, and we were issued 2 flat sheets for sleeping -- plastic, hot weather ... not the best combination. The food served to us for our catered picnic and snack periods was dry and generally tasteless ... when they remembered to provide it at all. The cafeteria was FULL to the brim with screaming children, which we are used to, but for the prestige of the workshop we attended, one would not expect to have to elbow for tables with all the children -- I felt as if I was on cafeteria duty at school. Food at the cafeteria, after standing in horrendous lines (trying to serve too many people in too short a time, most likely leads to the lines and the overcrowded seating areas), the food we received was overcooked and dried out or stewed until it lacked taste. The workshop we were attending was one that only 23 people in the US are chosen to attend. We worked hard to gain acceptance to work with one of the best historians in the USA. Unfortunately, Amherst College left the providers of the conference apologizing for the poor conditions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Wonderful college”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We attended an information session and took a tour of the campus. Both were very well run and inormative. The campus is beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank oyyveyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amherst College also viewed

 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Amherst College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing