We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Amherst B&B!”

Emily's Amherst Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emily's Amherst Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Amherst B&B!”
Reviewed February 2, 2009

My friend and I have just stayed at Emily's B&B in Amherst and found it to be utterly charming and comfortable. We stayed in the Emily's room and were delighted by the wonderful selection of books, the comfy beds, and lovely homemade afghans. The rooms were very spacious, and we enjoyed having our own private kitchen. The fresh fruit and pastries, as well as the coffee, tea, and milk that were left for us were wonderful! We lacked for nothing while we were there. The location, one block from the center, cannot be beat. I would recommend this B&B to everyone!

  • Liked — Charming rooms, location, cleanliness, and attention to detail by owners
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eriu40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
3
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Cautionary tale: wonder why there isn't a current or recent review? Because no one stays here! I should have taken this as an omen and avoided at all costs! Touted as a B&B, this place is suffering from a major identity crisis! "Emily's" can't make up it's mind; whether it's college residential housing or a most casual B&B that is just a passing fancy and hobby of its eccentric owner, or the owner is trying to please both clientele and doesn't succeed in doing either!

Made a HUGE mistake in booking the Emily Room for 2 weeks at holiday time. Biggest complaint was shared common "parking lot driveway" that seems to be mostly for full-time tenants and B& B owner or a couple employee w/child that does their casual housekeeping and not B&B clients. Had to shovel out own rental car after a snowstorm, as only one permanent resident seems to really care about the place and helped. Residents/tenants and even B&B owner put signs on their dashboards with phone numbers if you need to move your car, because of restrictive residential permits. Never seen anything like it, as a guest to not have even a plowed wintry driveway and to have to share it with residents who may or may not move their cars!

After 2 weeks of tolerating all of their idiosyncrasies: one of my last days, I wanted to exit the driveway with my rental car and called a phone # that was on the windscreen of a van that was blocking the supposed guest's driveway, but no one responded. I wound up minimally scratching a van that prevented me from exiting and it wound up to be the cleaner of Emily's, a van, which was full of dents and had extensive previous damages. Long story short: "Pauline", the "Emily" behind "Emily's" initially claimed it was a minor scratch and instructed me to offer her said employee $100 and that she'd talk to him, that it was nothing...the next morning, I called her, asking what the resolution was, and Pauline claimed she wasn't going to get involved, despite it being her employee and happened in her own private driveway. This is simply outrageous! Her own employee failed to provide a written quote, demanding $300 from us and refused to obtain 3 written quotes, saying he'd call the police. Long story short: BEWARE & STAY AWAY!

We had no hot water for 2 mornings and heat was either way too hot or none at all. While the main house is historical and nostalgic, the heating elements were only in the kitchen area and in the bedroom, not in the main living area and we got very sick with the flu early on in our stay, because of the inconsistent heating. We eventually complained and a service truck arrived the next day, so we assumed that something was amiss and other folks also complaned. It seems the whole system is old-fashioned forced hot air and not very consistent.

It's a curiosity, why "Emily's" claims to be a B&B, when it seems more a turn-key operation or a self-serviced apartment or more suspect, student and full-time residential housing? It's noisy (from residents upstairs going to work early in the morning, smoking area outside our bedroom windows, on the front porch, or snow-shovel haven with shovels, brooms, etc. outside our front door & constant in/out of the driveway!)) there is no privacy, it's drafty with threadbare towels and rips in our bed sheets. Even outside our refrigerator door, the floor in the kitchen, was completely sticky on the floor tiles with the flat Coke bottles left inside and apparently dripping on the floow. Why complain, when the owner, Pauline, turns a blind eye or doesn't seem to care?

Everything was funky and not pleasant, had to even ask for a can opener that wasn't broken to open up soup. My husband got a lecture on recycling in the early part of our stay, when Pauline emptied our kitchen garbage on the floor and sorted it out in front of him, how infantilizing...why not provide appropriate bins to do this, instead of sorting this out in front of paying guests?

We were greeted by 2 muffins, encased in plastic wrap, surrounded by a 4 tiny-end pieces of an Entenmann's coffee cake (the obvious remnants of another guest) for the first 2 days, complemented by milk that was expiring and half a carton of orange juice in the fridge from the last guest. While I appreciate today's economy and the hardship's we all face, it's a slap in the face to pay top dollar for an alleged B&B that doesn't provide the basic needs. |

Heed our advice and go to one of the comfy & modern places in the area on Route 9, ask for extended stay rates or the local flyer you can get at a local gas station, usually $59 per night with continental breakfast,,,your dollars will go much much further and you will enjoy your stay all the more!

Stay away and avoid at all costs, that's our final message!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — conflicted owner--is this student housing or B&B?, inadequate heating, no privacy, loud
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank jungatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

While planning a last minute leaf-peeping/cycling weekend in the Pioneer Valley and getting shut out all of the other hotels and B&B's I tried, I stumbled across Emily's on TripAdvisor.

This place is great! Emily had a room in her absolutely beautiful carriage house available at a great rate. The architecture of the house, the room and the surrounding gardens is astoundingly beautiful, romantic, understated and right in keeping with the Amherst area (plus a little bit of Japanese Zen).

Everything about the room, bathroom and all common areas was immaculately clean and orderly. Though the house is located on a residential street and right around the corner from all the activity in Amherst, we were able to keep the curtains pulled back from our windows and glass doors as the surrounding trees made us feel we were on a private retreat!

A grand gourmet breakfast is not served. Instead a full common (and very cozy) kitchen is available just a small flight of stairs away. The kitchen is stocked with fruit, cereal coffee and muffins. This was, for us, simply perfect. Additionally however, you get a fridge, stove and a fully stocked set of pots, pans and tools. One morning we made our own eggs on our own schedule!

Emily herself was great. She spent 15 minutes walking us through everything when we arrived and then 5 minutes saying goodbye when we left. Essentially, our needs were met in an unobtrusive manner – perfect for the type of weekend we had planned.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

On the recommendation of friends, my mother and I stayed 3 nights at Emily's B&B to attend parent events at my daughter's college. Not being bed and breakfast people, we were pleasantly surprised. In the Emily Dickinson suite, a very reasonable rate got us two rooms with a comfortable bed in each and a small kitchen and dining area. Emily provided various kinds of breakfast foods, including fresh fruit, cereal, breads, tea, juice and coffee. She was unobtrusive yet responsive, although we did not need much. The house is lovely, especially in the fall in New England. If you want an informal, homey environment, this is the place for you. If you want attentive and various kinds of service, this is not the place for you, although, having stayed at various places in Amherst, I am not sure where you would get that anyway. We will stay at Emily's on all future visits to Amherst.

  • Liked — Comfortable environment that was like home
  • Disliked — Pillows and towels
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

This cozy and convenient B&B is within easy walking distance from the train station and from the parking lot on the town commons. It doesn't have a website, so it may not be as full as other places in town that can get booked up quickly because of the area's 5 colleges. It also doesn't have a sign out front because it is in a residential neighborhood, so make sure you take down the address.

I stayed here in the carriage house for two nights and found it thoroughly relaxing. There's a garden to the side with bright geraniums and a fountain; the wall of windows on the other side of the spacious room looked out over a woodsy area, so it was like a wall of trees. Yes, it is a serve-yourself breakfast operation, but there's plenty of orange juice and some freshly prepared grapefruit halves along with locally baked pastries and muffins. The sitting area and kitchen are cozy and bohemian but immaculate. The proprietors and staff are friendly and helpful but leave you alone since they assume that you want your privacy.

To that end, there are no televisions or even clock radios. Bring your own alarm clock and blowdryer and plenty of books since it is a really quiet and mellow place. They have nice glycerine soap, but make sure to bring shampoo and conditioner-- though the B&B is a stone's throw from a CVS.
The garden has deservedly won an award from a MA archictectural association.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank annalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 5, 2005

A delightful find. We stayed there for three days and absolutely loved it. We will never stay anywhere other than Emily's when visiting our daughter in Amherst. We had the lovely house to our selves and could wake up and do breakfast, which was ample andfresh) anytime we wanted. No set times or restrictions. Fresh flowers everyday, a wonderful array of books to read, real New England charm. This was a peaceful, relaxing and charming experience. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 15, 2003

I spent two nights at Emily's in March 2003 withi my girlfriend. The room was clean and warm, the location is really close to downtown (4 minutes' walk). So why the 'Okay' rating? The major problem I had with Emily's is that it's really not a 'bed & breakfast' at all, as most people understand the term. Most people think of a bed & breakfast, and visualize themselves staying in someone's home, chatting with the host over a home-cooked breakfast, getting some local color. But "Emily" (that's not her real name) doesn't live there, nobody lives there. At Emily's, you make your own breakfast in the kitchen down the hallway, or help yourself to the fruit and store-bought cakes that may have been left there for you. Since there's nobody there, you need to figure out where the kitchen is on your own. The milk in the fridge was sour (over a week out of date), and the only cereal was Fruity Pebbles and some other "kid cereal". Instead of the personal experience that you expect at a Bed & Breakfast, I feel like our experience was even *less* personal than if we had stayed at the Howard Johnson, or Motel 6.In fairness, I should say that we did bump into someone who said she was keeping an eye on the place, and who also told us that "Emily" was out of town for a couple of weeks. Perhaps when she's around, it's a more personal experience.The rooms were sparsely furnished, and the bed had seen better days, but you can never be sure what you're going to get at a B&B, and it was only $70/night. If you're looking for a cheap room near downtown, it's not a bad deal. Just know that you're *not* getting a bed & breakfast, it's more like a self-catering room. And don't forget to pick up some fresh milk before you get there.

Helpful?
30 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.9 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
457 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
171 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily's Amherst Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily's Amherst Bed & Breakfast

Property: Emily's Amherst Bed & Breakfast
Address: 71 N Prospect St, Amherst, MA 01002-2035
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Emily`s Amherst Hotel Amherst
Emily`s Amherst Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing