We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!”

Emily's Amherst Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emily's Amherst Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
Munstergeleen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Emily's. We stayed on the carriage house, Katherine's room. It is a quiet place. Good beds, good breakfast, you won't regret a stay here!
Room was a bit noisy but no different from most hotels we stayed.

Ryanne en Sven from Holland

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
3
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Hill, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

As noted, rather more a "guest house." Carriage house (actually, barn) has two bedrooms each with double bed, and a top floor (hayloft of the barn) "suite" with double bed, two twins, sitting area, screens for privacy if needed. Self-serve breakfast; we have always found ample, fresh food with considerable variety (small pastries, English muffins, fruit, cereal, coffee, milk, juice, etc.). Common sitting/breakfast area. We have stayed here before as a couple (one room), and, variously, been the sole guests, or shared the common area with other guests. This time we had several family members with us, so had the entire carriage house, which was ideal for our needs. The location is ideal to downtown (2 blocks), the setting is beautiful (especially in spring!), the rooms are clean, comfortable, and attractive.
Negatives: Must prepay, and no credit cards accepted. Parking very limited, and may require some coordination. And, not necessarily a negative, church bells nearby ring every morning at 8 (we found that rather charming, actually). No TV (again, not a negative for us.)
Huge collection of books, most with local reference (e.g., history of tobacco barns in Connecticut river valley). Recommend looking at the photo book (in the common area) of the renovations - easy to underestimate the amount of work and forethought that went into creating the environment both inside and out. We have stayed in local hotels as well, and in doing so have paid as much or more for typical austere motel accommodations.

Room Tip: Both single rooms look out on very attractive (different) rock garden/sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc, ny, usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

we thought from reviews that Emily's would be a good choice, especially its
location in Amherst proper. WRONG!!! For breakfast , we found a stale
package of English Muffins , stale mini muffins and 2 small pastries under
plastic wrap and fruit (2 bananas, 2 small bruised apples and twelve grapes)
THIS WAS BREAKFAST? at the priciest B & B on the list? also, NO PARKING
facilities (we were disturbed @ 10:30 at night to move our car since it was
blocking another. Emily herself is rude toward guests. Have stayed in three
other Bed & Breakfasts in the area with superb facilities and delicious home
cooked breakfasts of eggs, pancakes, yogurt, fresh coffee, etc.
ISB, NYC

Room Tip: Buyer Beware! Do not go to EMILY'S B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ISBNyc_Ny_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I realize I called last minute and that I didn't have a lot of options, but honestly. Whoever rented me the room for the night was very nice, but for what it claims to be, it's overpriced and under-done. And they don't take credit cards.

As soon as I arrived and was settling in, someone came to the door, banged to be let in and then tried their key without waiting for an answer. Luckily, I had the chain on... They were there to drop off a plant. Disruptive and annoying, but fine.

But then I noticed more issues. Obviously leftovers in the fridge and the dishes weren't even clean. I had to wash everything before I used it. Especially my cup in the morning--still coffee dregs in it from whoever had used it before! That's definitely over the top, particularly since it was the cup put out for my 'breakfast' the next morning.

The setting is lovely and it is close to downtown. However, I wouldn't recommend it to someone unless they were desperate.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KansasJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

First, think of this as a guest house rather than a traditional b&b. Stayed in the Emily Suite with two friends from writing group. Cotton sheets were so soft & clean and one of the things that matters most to me. Furnishings were comfortable and there was plenty of space for all 3 of us. Two others stayed in the Edith Suite and we held our writing workshop in the living room space of that suite. Kitchens had basics with lots of treats and fruit and tea for guest to use. The location rocks!!! Just down the street from library and around the corner from many restaurants, shops and local amherst haunts made this visit fun and productive. We will definitely consider returning. It was clean and most of the amenities/furnishings were basic (ie not new high end appliances, rather older features that worked and that was all we needed). Really nice oak furnishings.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ManitoMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Had never been to bed and breakfast before, so wanted to experience it. We grew up not too far from the area, came back for visit. We enjoyed the whole experience. Great space, lovely antique furniture, comfy beds very clean. Fresh muffins and pasteries every morning with coffee, juice or tea. Just a great atmosphere!! Can't wait to go back.
Thanks Emily!!
K. Cullen

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCullen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

This was a spacious and charming and space with plenty of room for me, my boyfriend and two friends in the room for only $100! Breakfast is only muffins but there are plenty of bakeries and coffee shops within a two minute walk. LOVED it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewjamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.9 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily's Amherst Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily's Amherst Bed & Breakfast

Property: Emily's Amherst Bed & Breakfast
Address: 71 N Prospect St, Amherst, MA 01002-2035
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Emily`s Amherst Hotel Amherst
Emily`s Amherst Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing