We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy surpise”
Review of Johnny's Tavern

Johnny's Tavern
Ranked #1 of 114 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Johnny’s Tavern, located in the town of Amherst, Massachusetts, home to the University of Mass, Amherst College and Hampshire College and nestled in the heart of the community. Johnny’s Tavern invites you to sample our menu. We pride ourselves with using organic produce, sustainable seafood, hormone-free meat and poultry where ever possible. Our mission is to provide a truly unforgettable dining experience. To have every guest who comes through our door leave impressed by Johnny’s and feel excited to come back again to the warmth of our hospitality. We invite you to plan your next dining occasion with us. Our team will be happy to assist you with the same standards you have come to know through our restaurants: excellent customer service, delicious food, professionalism and hospitality. We look forward to serving you.
montague
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“happy surpise”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

More than the average Amherst fare...great appetizers and salads, diverse selection of entrees, fresh ingredients, trained staff...a cut above the rest, and a sure recipe for success!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldnewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    107
    25
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Place to unwind and relax, friendly staff”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Finally got a chance to go to Johnny's last Tuesday. Tried once before on a weekend and it was just too crowded with a very long wait time. We were greeted and seated promptly. We selected one of the booths in the bar/lounge area. The bartender was actually also doing the waitressing there. She was super friendly and new the menu well. We ordered the salt and pepper style calamari the cilantro lime and aioli soy chili sauce was excellent. I ordered the Grilled Wester Ross Scottish Salmon while my friend ordered the Pan Roasted Cod. All the meals including the appetizers come out very nicely arranged and colorful. Unfortunately for me my Salmon which was a great piece, large portion came under cooked. It was a bit raw in the middle. So I sent it back, I rarely send food back. Feeling a bit shy about sending it back, the waitress agreed it wasn't fully cooked. My friend loved the Pan Roasted Cod. He was finished by the time my food was re-cooked. A brand new freshly cooked meal was prepared and delivered by the manager with his apologies. He advised they have a brand new cook in training and I was given a free dessert (which I took home because I was too full) for the trouble. The salmon this time was done perfectly. I will definitely try the restaurant again. The food was very tasty, staff very nice and things happen. The problem was corrected and all was well. Will come back again. PS. If you do have room for dessert try one - delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Weezie01375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Corner, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Lunch!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Both my wife and I had sandwiches on a Sunday afternoon. The tavern was quiet and not very many there, but the food was really quite good. I [particularly liked the turkey club, which came on rye toast, with substantial slices of fresh turkey--and just a taste of cranberries to go with the usual contents of a club. The combination was a real success! And with it came either french fries or home-made potato chips, which we both opted to order. Without the usual salt that usually comes on chips these were very good indeed.

The service was very attentive and pleasant.

All in all, we were very happy to have happened on Johnny's Tavern.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RevL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
“Very enjoyable food, not the service”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food is rather enjoyable and the prices are moderate.

However, although the restaurant is supposed to be open till 10:00 p.m. (Monday-Thursday) - it's more like 9:15 p.m. or so.

At about that time the stuff is more interested in cleaning the premises, moving chairs
around, bussing tables and so on.
Doesn't make it the most enjoyable atmosphere to enjoy one's very good food and company due to noise, hustle and dust those activities produce.

The stuff is more interested in leaving the premises at 10:00 p.m. on the nose,than serving the remaining guests and letting them enjoy their meal.

My advice is - do not bother going there AFTER 9:00 p.m.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A pleasant place with an interesting and varied menu”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Six of us (including two young children...one 7 and one 3) had dinner here on a Thurday night in July. There was plenty to chose from on the menu and the prices were reasonable. The staff was very accomodating in customizing a dish for the 7 year old. We all wound up choosing lighter fare, rather than full dinners. Two of our party had fish and chips and both felt that the fish was a bit overcooked and that the coating was a bit heavy. Two of us had what the menu described as a Korean Taco. While the dish was quite pleasant it did not come across as a taco or even as particularly Korean. The ambience was pleasant and tavern like and even though the place was quite busy, it wasn't overly noisy and we didn't feel crowded. We found Johnny's Tavern to be pleasant and reasonably priced, but generally average.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's Tavern also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Johnny's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing