We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Relaxed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny's Tavern

Johnny's Tavern
Ranked #3 of 115 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Johnny’s Tavern, located in the town of Amherst, Massachusetts, home to the University of Mass, Amherst College and Hampshire College and nestled in the heart of the community. Johnny’s Tavern invites you to sample our menu. We pride ourselves with using organic produce, sustainable seafood, hormone-free meat and poultry where ever possible. Our mission is to provide a truly unforgettable dining experience. To have every guest who comes through our door leave impressed by Johnny’s and feel excited to come back again to the warmth of our hospitality. We invite you to plan your next dining occasion with us. Our team will be happy to assist you with the same standards you have come to know through our restaurants: excellent customer service, delicious food, professionalism and hospitality. We look forward to serving you.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
225 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly and Relaxed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

First time in Amherst and were walking around town and found Johnny's Tavern. Looked busy, checked out menu and decided to give it a try. The dining room was pleasant and so was the service. Slightly disappointed with the meal. I ordered the special steak with mashed potatoes. Just average. My husband ordered the chicken and french fries. Chicken was tasteless and fries were fried in "old oil". Next visit to Amherst, we will just have to try another place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    95
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went for lunch today after reading a favorable review in The Republican.

The selections are varied, so we tried three apps., the mac and cheese, pork sliders, and truffle fries. We also ordered the slow braised pork lasagna.

I have to say that the mac and cheese is fabulous. it is for sure one of the best I've ever had. The fries are also excellent. The pork didn't hit the spot the for me as, given the wine braised description, it was watery and lacked flavor. The sliders were better than the lasagna, which was a true let-down as it came off as a bunch of pork with a few noodles and a little cheese. It lacked "something" and had no depth of flavor as would be expected.

The dessert we tried, creme brulee and bread pudding, were excellent and they obviously whip their own cream--totally thick and rich. I only drink non-alcoholic beer and having the bottom-line selection of O'Douls was a major let down for a Tavern. There are much better non-alcoholic beers on the market.

Overall, we were pleased. I would like to try some of their other items for a full comparison, so I'll go back in the future for another try.

Atmosphere wise, it is a nice place to spend a couple of hours.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zazu_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“(dis) appointment in Samarra”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

such a great room wasted, the venue is a pleasant wooded haven, but the anticipated offerings are average to not very good at all. limited menu with even those dishes just a remix of the same stock meat (slider meat used in pasta dishes). little imagination and little effort from that kitchen. if you're after a beer at a nice bar top, would recommend, else rethink your options.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank t2howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tonight's Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Johnny's is a friendly and relaxed place where after a long week it is good to sit at the bar where they call you by your name! Very nice! The food is family-style mostly and one is advised to stick to old standbys such as the incredibly good hamburger and the very crisp French fries. I chose the Ahi tuna over a green salad with tomatoes, avocado and soy marinated cucumbers minus the latter that I find a bit limp and maybe a tad slimy? The tuna is very good, perfectly seasoned, crusty with pepper. There must be a new prep cook because the avocado, ungenerously diced was a very unusual shade of brown. Wonder why it is not known that avocado oxidizes quickly - like apples and pears. it should be freshly cut just before serving and a quarter of an avocado thinly sliced always makes a good impression. Call me a snob but serve me fresh food and I will forgive you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Artichokeanyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lively Saturday, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Obviously popular on a winter Saturday. We were too small a group for reservations, but called ahead to "get on the list" and were seated quickly. Drink and appetizer orders taken promptly. More than pub fare, we were impressed by the varied menu and their flexibility in removing a couple ingredients from one of the entrees. We especially enjoyed the spicy calamari, and steak prepared exactly as requested (zuchini-potato hash not so much). Very generous portions, but otherwise average presentation and taste. House made gnocchi was somewhat heavy, basil pesto trottole a copious, rather unappealing mound of slippery pasta. Service was appropriately attentive, water glasses kept filled. Johnny's is a nice addition to central Amherst, so convenient for dining before or after an Amherst Cinema movie. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedSoxFan100341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's Tavern also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Johnny's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing