We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of 30Boltwood

30Boltwood
Reserve with OpenTable
30Boltwood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 116 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Spring Street
Description: 30Boltwood delivers an intimate yet unassuming dining experience in historic Amherst, MA. Simply prepared meals crafted by Chef Dino and inspired by the abundance of locally-sourced ingredients. 30Boltwood is a gathering place where old friends and new acquaintances quietly sip cocktails by the fire and celebrate all that is great about food, drink and camaraderie.
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Sadly, this new restaurant is a disappointment. Their understanding of French cuisine stops at meagre portions and high prices. One leaves the table with the impression that the foie gras came from a goose that had been fed salt, not corn or walnuts. Again, unless the celery grew in Dead Sea, it just can't be allowed to be that salty. Chocolate cake is not supposed to be a glorified brownie. If a portion of lamb is just 3 oz, it better be good (but it's not).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank montepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at 30Boltwood, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We apologize for the disappointment you felt with our menu offerings. Our goal at 30Boltwood is to present local products, simply prepared, as to enhance the natural flavors of the product itself. The idea behind the prix fixe menu for New Year’s Eve was to offer a full variety of items in tasting portions to suit the discerning palate. We apologize that the offerings did not meet your expectations on this occasion. With your feedback, we are able to make changes and adjustments to keep the pace of the changing needs of our guests.

We value your feedback, and we welcome the opportunity to have you back again to change your impression of 30Boltwood. We’ll look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager & Tom Cannizaro, Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    34
    20
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently had lunch with a colleague in this beautiful inn located on the Amherst, MA common. The restaurant is attached to the Lord Jeff Inn (where lovely accommodations are available). Our food was beautifully presented and the cream of cauliflower and potato soup was amazing! I had the open-faced turkey sandwich with fresh herbs and apples served over sour dough bread. I can't wait to return for dinner. The restaurant is tastefully decorated with a Pottery Barn appearance. An excellent choice with the wonderful downtown Amherst to explore afterwards.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MommyofTwoGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The ambiance at this restaurant is wonderful, The "greenhouse" room is lovely & private. We had no complaints with the physical aspects of the restaurant. However, we reserved the special greenhouse room for a 6:00pm dinner for 20 people and when we arrived were asked to wait for an hour before they could seat us because the folks who had the room before us were still eating!!! But the hostess claimed it was not their fault since the party before them had arrived 30 minutes late and thrown off the whole schedule. Our food was sparse but very nicely presented and tasted ok - nothing outstanding. i think perhaps making us wait left a bad taste in our mouths...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to the newly renovated and reopened Lord Jeff Hotel Restaurant It was weeknight and early so the place was empty .We were enthusiastically and warmly welcomed by the hostess. We split an appetizer of mussels. This area is know for its mussel dishes. These were not great or plentiful. The meagre portion was made larger by adding large slices of red onion and chickpeas. Unusual but not a great combination My wife ordered the" Catch of the Day" we were told it came in a broth but no spoon was provided. It was good. My scallops were cold and sandy Our waitress spent much of her time talking to some family friends and the hostess had to clear our plates.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Am I in New York?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The food is just that good. The decor is great and the service wonderful!

Fortunately the prices are a lot less than in The City. A new favorite of ours!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveling_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 30Boltwood also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to 30Boltwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing