We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Mexican in the valley”

The Mission Cantina
Ranked #9 of 113 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Longmeadow, MA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best Mexican in the valley”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and son and I tried this restaurant for the first time on a Sunday evening and chose to sit at the bar as the tables were full. We have been sampling area Mexican eateries in the last few weeks, and we have decided this is the best! Everything is fresh and perfectly prepared, we tried a variety of tacos, enchiladas, and a special: braised beef tostadas. The margaritas are excellent and our son, the straight-up tequila and mezcal connoisseur, really liked his selections. The ambience is warm and friendly, students and others of all ages, and I can't think of anything I would change. Oh, and the food is affordable on a student budget as well. The best in the Valley for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobLongmeadow_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    27
    8
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“You'll probably have to wait a bit for a table, but its worth it!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Misson Cantina is clearly a very popular place. It seems to always be crowded. There were three of us on a Friday night in July and we had to wait for about 1/2 hour for a table at about 7:30PM. The waiting was made bearable by the Margaritas we ordered from the bar, but we had to drink them standing up. There was simply no room in this very small restaurant to put out any chairs for those waiting and you couldn't really sit at the bar since they were serving meals to bar patrons. The menu is pretty limited...tacos, burritos, enchiladas and a couple of other traditional dishes. We all chose a taco platter, but each of us chose different fillings. And everything we had was absolutely delicious. We stared with chips, salsa and quacamole, also quite good (the quality of the chips and salsas are a reliable indicator of the quality of a Mexican restaurant, at least in our experience). And those at the Mission Cantina portended the excellent meal. Also note that the Margaritas are very very good...not the best we've ever had, but certainly among the better ones.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Simple, limited and absolutely fabulous menu. Fresh, local ingredients and imaginative recipes equals tasty food. Margaritas are the best around, beers at good prices and Coke from Mexico with real sugar, not high fructose corn syrup is a treat. Now with expanded seating which may mean still waiting for a table or seat at the bar. Secret is getting there early, or enjoying a drink while you wait. Fun atmosphere and authentic Mexican food are worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Best Mexican I've had in New England by far!! The margaritas and nachos are amazing!!!! Try the fish tacos and enchiladas. Not for those on low salt diets!! Lol.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nevadacowgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, great drinks, fab homemade salsas, straightforward menu...what more could one want?! More seating - that's it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBWilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mission Cantina also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to The Mission Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing