We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip, special food and great service”

The University Club
Ranked #48 of 114 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Worth the trip, special food and great service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had the new york steak, and it was prepared properly, the portions not too large and the side dish was farm fresh vegetable. The clam chowder starter is a must.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The last time I stayed I ate at the U Club”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This time it was closed for renovation but I will make sure I will go during my next visit to UMass. It was quite an experience.
Superb food and service and an exciting historical setting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bwana_Ugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walled to University Club for dinner and drinks. Food was excellent (steak)”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

There was nothing I disliked about the restaurants. The University Club restaurant is in the oldest house in Amherst.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic New England Fare”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Do yourself a favour. Get in even if its just for a drink and snack but would recommend for dinner.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_Travelater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Businessmen/women BEWARE”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Staying at campus hotel &Pat: was told this was the best place to go. I was traveling alone so always try to go very early to not take away larger parties. Moment I walked in the door & the Mgr saw I was alone, she said we're booked so would you mind having a seat @ the bar? It was full ex except for one seat at the very end. I squeezed in and made due. The following Monday I go back and even though I could see many tables empty & no one on the reservation list again I was told "We're completely booked would you mind eating at the bar?" I said no, I'll go elsewhere. Clearly there customer "service" policy is not meant for single business travelers. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND TAKE YOUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex33373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The University Club also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Hadley, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to The University Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing