We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Lumber Yard - CLOSED

Lumber Yard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: An elegant bar with hand-crafted cocktails & live jazz music every Thursday night.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We may have visited on an off night, but we won't go again. We were a group of six with a reservation and were seated right away but then it took 90 minutes before our meals arrived. The waitress never returned to see if the two of us drinking wine might like a second glass.Three of us ordered the NY Strip Steak and all felt we could grill a more tasty steak at home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank highmtnsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boothbay, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

These guys know how to cook - so nice to get surprising food combinations and flavors, things you would not cook at home. Loved the beet salad and crispy polenta, kids were happy with poutine and burgers. Service too was over the top!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank From_the_Farmlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“its OK”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

revisited recently. Nice location and ambience with good service. The description of the dishes and how they would be prepared sounded very interesting. The execution did not live up to the expectations. It was all good to mediocre but nothing outstanding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We loved this restaurant”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited New England as "leaf peepers" and the meal we enjoyed here was the best we had on the trip. First class local ingredients together with superb service and extremely good value too. We hope that this restaurant continues to attract the attention it deserves and only wish it was closer to home. We were fortunate to secure a table that particular evening and would recommend that a reservation is made due to its popularity.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulExeter_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Creative dishes and delicious! The Lumber Yard chefs offered a menu full of fresh local ingredients. Our meal was delightful!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillygib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumber Yard also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing