We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Lumber Yard

Lumber Yard
Ranked #18 of 116 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An elegant bar with hand-crafted cocktails & live jazz music every Thursday night.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Creative dishes and delicious! The Lumber Yard chefs offered a menu full of fresh local ingredients. Our meal was delightful!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillygib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
863 reviews
729 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“Competency and Quality”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

One dinner is not usually enough to make a definitive review. Our recent experience, dining with friends here, for all of us the first time, was pleasant and satisfying. The service was earnest and the appetizers and main courses were prepared with definite skill. My impression was that the desserts were a little less inspired, but I suppose fewer people order desserts these days. The wine list has admirable variety and kudos for the conscious effort to provide satisfying value choices.

With its comfortable neighborhood ambiance, you don't feel you are in the midst of a college town. The emphasis on high quality ingredients and local sourcing is admirable. Candidly, while our dinners were well prepared, I can't say they were any superior or even on a par with some of the serous competitors in the area. I won't hesitate to come back and give them another try. I appreciate their dedication to achieving a high standard. At this point, however, it is not near the top of my area list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grown-up restaurant in a student town”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I'm so glad to have a place to go for a light dinner and a civilized cocktail. The too many pizza/burger places in Amherst get me down. The Lumber Yard is a lovely antidote, in an attractive space. The appetizers and salads are my favorites, as well as the creative, sophisticated martinis. Best of all, they bake their own, amazing bread. I don't know what it is but I wish they'd sell loaves.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AckeeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Even shy Emily would have happily traded her seclusion for a meal at the Lumber Yard!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Located across the street from the Emily Dickinson Homestead, the Lumber Yard provides an amazing dining experience. It's been here a while but we never even knew! Open only Th-Su (Is that just in the summer?). A warm, elegant atmosphere, with a large, intriguing, historic map of Amherst town on one wall, beautiful black & white photos of horses & humans displayed on others. A sleek bar, away from table and booth seating. Very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive wait staff. A fascinating menu, featuring local products. We were four adults, with four different ideas of what constituted a meal, picking and choosing from appetizers, entreés and extras. Our server graciously accommodated each guest, bringing items in logical sequence. While sipping mixed drinks and an excellent house red wine, we shared a large bowl of roasted brussels sprouts--perhaps the evening's most surprising and incredibly delicious super star! I combined appetizers and "snacks:" a fresh, colorful mixed green salad with dried cranberries & lemon vinaigrette (usually served with walnuts and feta, but lovely without!) and a pork schnitzel (actually entreé-sized, served with handcut fries and housemade ketchup). For my Southern-born partner: grilled swordfish with fried green tomatoes and corn relish. For our vegetarian guest: the crispy polenta with ratatouille (It's the season!). And finally, one of the "specials:" grilled meatloaf and mashed potatoes--many flavor notches above your average roadside diner. Deserts? ginger pound cake with ice cream and fresh fruit (with four forks!) and a parfait glass filled with assorted house made ice creams, including fresh mint, sour cream, and fresh raspberry. Prices seemed very reasonable, compared to other local high-end restaurants. We loved everything about the meal and will be back soon, eager to impress our Boston-based "foodie" adult children!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedSoxFan100341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing......again!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We love the Lumberyard. Each time we are greeted warmly by our bartenders who make great drinks. Appetizers were delicious- we had the bolognese that is off the hook! Scallop app was served with kimchi beef -delicious! For an entree the short ribs are to die for. Great atmosphere throughout although we love to eat at the bar. Definitely a special night out. One of our favorites in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumber Yard also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Lumber Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing