We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excentric”
Review of Lumber Yard

Lumber Yard
Ranked #18 of 116 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An elegant bar with hand-crafted cocktails & live jazz music every Thursday night.
amherst
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“excentric”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

They close in the summer and return in the fall. This is odd in that this area is a 4 season destination. Its like opening a new every fall. We arrived late and added a couple. They were gracious about the change. Bread and butter arrived. Some liked it, a dark flavorful moist hippy style others would have liked a baguette. Drink orders were taken and then oddly they asked only for our appetizers . They offer standard hamburgers, meat loaf and post modern concoctions like beef hearts and fish cheeks with an egg. The main course came. Our one waitress did here best to bring them but it took awhile to serve us all. Some in the party said start, others said we had to all wait. I noticed other waiters just standing around chatting that could have helped.They removed our wine glasses with the main course and we were left puzzled.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A great new addition to the savvy Amherst foodie scene! Try the Mussels w/Chorizo, it's out of this world. The ambiance is fabulous wether you are at a table or at the elegant bar.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mojobaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try the Gnocchi!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

A welcome addition to the limited choices in Amherst, my husband and I have gone to the Lumber Yard about once a month since it's opening. The atmosphere is lovely, the food is all made in-house except one of the pastas and the bar has a more extensive selection of wine-by-the glass than most other restaurants.

While there have been a few snafus during our multiple visits (slightly undercooked salmon, easily fixed and an entree on the cool side, once), we have been happy with our selections, especially the gnocchi. It is very light and fluffy, with an elegant mushroom and cream sauce that I have tried not to order every time and have failed miserably. I enjoy the salad selection, especially with the add-on salmon option, and the other selections on the vegetarian menu have not disappointed. We do not eat poultry or red meat so I cannot speak to those dishes.
The bar experience has a nice community feel if you don't want to sit at a table (6p and 8p seatings at the tables on busy nights but you can take a chance at a table without a reservation, esp later in the evening). Bartenders are knowledgeable and personable.

Food prices are comparable to nicer area restaurants, wine prices are high, but you can get a taste before you commit to $10 or $16(in Amherst, really?) for a glass.
We are pleased enough for the variety and quality of the food, and the relaxing experience this restaurant offers that we will be looking forward to their reopening date in the fall.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boomerang306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Don't miss the molasses bread!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is a very pleasant restaurant with great food and great service. We were a large group for a very busy weekend, but our server never in any way suggested that she was hurried. Everything was done right and tasty -- and the molasses bread really is worth going out of your way for.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlelingFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and good food”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Relatively new to Amherst, it's an intimate restaurant with a very nice ambiance. It has bar seating. Staff are friendly. The food is good. It is on the expensive side. It is similar to Chez Albert although the menu offerings are different.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Niah707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumber Yard also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Lumber Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing