We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Could not have been nicer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purple Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Purple Gables
Ranked #6 of 12 Amherst B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Could not have been nicer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Do I even need to chime in with yet another 5 star review for Lynda?? Purple Gables is lovely, conveniently located, tastefully decorated, and yes, the breakfasts are superb. Our family of 4 was very comfortable here, with one kid on the sofa bed and one in the private single room. But the best part is having such a personality-filled and gracious host, who is warm and service-oriented, personable but not intrusive, just a genuinely kind person who wants you to have a wonderful time in Amherst, which we did. Thanks, Lynda!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SortaFussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
13
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Lynda really looks after her guests! The suite is really comfortable and the property is very convbeniently located for the town. The breakfasts are superb and very large - you can easily miss out on lunch!
However the warmth of welcome from Lynda and her family was great. She was also very helpful in suggesting places to visit that we would not have found without her advice.
We hope to return and would certainly recommend Purple Gables to our friends.

Bruce & Sue, Hoddesdon, UK

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 497Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I consider myself an avid traveler with a discerning eye for excellence and I was not disappointed at Purple Gables, with host Lynda Faye. From the accommodations (aesthetically pleasing and comfortable decor), to soft luxurious linens, palette pleasing gourmet 3 course breakfasts...but the best part of all was the graciousness and great humor of the host, Lynda. It all added up to an unforgettable experience for all of us Amherst (only the "h" is silent by the way) first timers! Do yourself a favor and just go!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here, like many, doing the college tour, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lynda is an extremely gracious, thoughtful, and accommodating hostess. When my kids mentioned they weren't fans of eggs, she kindly offered to make them French toast. The food was absolutely delicious, her company most enjoyable, the suite lovely and with all the comforts of home. Should our adventures bring us back to the Amherst area, we all will most definitely seek out a stay at Purple Gables.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trinojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Lynda has a real gift for hospitality--she's so smart and thoughtful and detail-oriented--and she's a terrific cook and has an admirable sense of aesthetics as well, all of which add up to a top-notch B&B experience. Other reviewers have already done a great job of praising Lynda and the Purple Gables (and I concur with all their accolades), so I'll just add a few details that might be useful to prospective guests. Though the address is on Pleasant Street, it's on an auxiliary loop parallel to the main road so that the traffic noise is muted. The inn is an easy 3/4 mile walk from the center of town. The twin bed in a small separate room makes Purple Gables an excellent choice for parents touring the area with a prospective college student (when we did the college tour a few years back, our poor daughter spent way too many miserable nights on sofabeds, which seem to be the B&B default for an additional guest). The preschooler toys in the closet and little boxes of cereal on a shelf suggest that a young child would feel equally welcome here. The suite is an in-law unit attached to the main house (albeit with a separate entrance), so you might occasionally hear people talking in the adjacent room, which we found companionable, but I can imagine guests wanting to feel more private. Whoever you are, Lynda will do her utmost to make you feel welcome, and there are not many innkeepers of her calibre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Where do I begin? Lynda is so warm and inviting, the accomodations were wonderful, very spacious and clean, breakfast was delightful! Lynda had crackers and cheese waiting for us upon our arrival- delicious! She really pays attention to every little detail to make your stay special- I must have mentioned that my husband and I were coming for an overnight stay to celebrate my brithday when I spoke with her on the phone. Upon arrival, she presented a cake from a local bakery for my birthday-- SO thoughtful! I would stay here again without a second thought and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is traveling through the Amherst area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMF1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We spent the night at Lynda's Purple Gable Inn and had a very relaxing time. The pristine suite in lovely pastel colors is attached to her kitchen. She greeted us in the driveway and had a small platter of cheese and crackers in our room upon arrival. The fridge had some cool water and several bottles of sparkling soda. She offered two excellent suggestions for lunch and dinner and we enjoyed both meals. Her breakfast the next morning was delightful: fresh fruit cups in beautiful green glass cups and herbed eggs with toast and a corn confection. Heated maple syrup and yogurt with granola. She is welcoming and interesting hostess and had great insights into several museums and the process of touring colleges.

Room Tip: There is only one suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmgraham200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.6 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Gables

Property: Purple Gables
Address: 232 E Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1507
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, elegant, no-smoking suite in historic home. Walk to town, UMass and Amherst College. Sunny large suite with private porch entrance, dining area, sitting room, queen bed, second private bedroom, garden, patio. Gourmet breakfast served in your suite. Amenities include WIFI, TV, DVD, fridge with snacks, microwave, bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer, and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing