We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely nice and helpful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely nice and helpful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels over the years and I was somewhat hesitant to stay at a new non chain hotel but because this hotel was on campus and convenient, I decided to try it. Not only was it super convenient to not have to leave the campus for career, the staff there was so friendly and willing to go above and beyond to help me with whatever I needed. Rooms were really nice and the room service was excellent. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachl0ver35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear beachl0ver35,
We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Hotel UMass. Thank you for taking a chance and staying with us! We very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    165
    57
    11
    7
See reviews for
201
48
20
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The UMass Hotel was one of my best hotel experiences ever. All the staff were helpful, courteous, friendly, and most importantly, competent. Everyone, including the work-study student who opens the door to the parking garage, and the person who takes parking tickets at the exit, they were all friendly and dedicated. The hotel is very convenient for business on campus, or for visiting the area. Nicely appointed rooms. The food area is part of the student center, so the choices are typical college-fare, but most of it is organic/free range quality and well-prepared. The student workers in the food court do a great job. You can also eat at any of the dining commons. Worcester Commons has many ethnic food choices, including sushi, Thai noodle dishes, and Indian food.

Green Features: The hotel is strongly dedicated to recycling, reduced resource us, and organic foods.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear George L,
We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Hotel UMass. Thank you for your wonderful review. We very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

In the past couple of months, I have stayed at Umass, Hilton at Niagara Falls, and Mariott in Hartford. Of the three, Umass was the best in all regards. The staff was exceptional, the rooms were spotless and nicely furnished, and a great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Bill11111,
We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Hotel UMass. Thank you for your wonderful review. It is such a wonderful compliment! We very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

stayed here for 6 nights while dropping my son to university.the people at the reception are simply awesome, willing to solve any problem thats put forward.the rooms spotlessly clean,a good bed and the bathroom competes with the room with regards to cleanliness.a simple but tasty breakfast, all in all value for money .will surely stay again if we do visit again

Green Features: the green initiative in this hotel rocks! pl keep it up
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivektigershark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Vivektigershark,
We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Hotel UMass. We are so pleased that our staff was able to assist you during your stay. We very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

While dropping our daughter off at UMASS, a hotel situated in the middle of campus seemed like a good 'option'. However, that 'option' turned out to be one of the "MOST PLEASANT" hotel stays we have had.

The UMASS hotel excels in all aspects of "hospitality" and sets a high bar for standards. The rooms were very comfortable, impeccably clean and service was par excellence. All staff at the hotel, including student employees, exuded a high degree of professionalism and were extremely helpful, courteous and attentive to our requests.

Ideally located,

There is no question in our minds that we will stay at the same hotel, whenever, visiting the area next.

Room Tip: Once the construction of new classrooms, is complete, rooms facing campus pond are highly recommende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haider N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Haider N,
We want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Hotel UMass. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay; we very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel was very clean and well maintained , the staff were very helpful we were able to get a meal at the very modern university eatery as late as 10pm.just had to go downstairs without having to go out. Very very convenient . Very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracias65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Gracias65,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for thinking of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Great experience at very good value.very enthusiastic and helpful staff.made the move in experience for my daughter very comfortable.the campus location is an added advantage.clean and spacious rooms make the stay very pleasant

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchanaJainGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear ArchanaJainGupta,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. We were so glad to have you with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
7.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing