We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay for one night”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Decent stay for one night”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for 1 night as my daughter was in a dance competition the next morning nearby and due to several colleges in the area graduating hotel choices at an affordable rate were hard to find. Was a little Leary of booking something right on campus. Found it a little awkward to have to walk through the campus center to get to the front desk from the bottom level garage but was greeted by a very friendly front desk staff. There is no pool which I knew of when booking but the sites of the mountains and foliage was nice. The breakfast is very basic, I choose this hotel over a Quality Inn in Chicopee due to reviews and while the hotel was nice it wasn't what I expected after reading all the reviews. The bathroom is well done but very small, the rooms are clean but no fridge. . My daughter did like the cookies at check in and the Kuerig was nice in the morning. One small thing room was a bit noisy from the ac unit to the creeks (honestly don't know what the noises were coming from). Overall a decent stay for one night though a little pricey at $169 plus tax for what is really offered

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KKOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear KKOF,

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay at our UMass Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read what our guests have to say about our hotel. I thank you for your honesty and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    168
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
208
49
22
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have stayed at the UMass Hotel a few times already beginning when we took the campus tour with my son who eventually became a student @ UMass Amherst. I have been up a few times since then and each time has been a great experience. The staff is always so pleasant and friendly. The hotel is always very clean and the rooms are also very clean and neat. I love the convenience of being right on campus for my son but I would definitely stay here otherwise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Fred M,

I want to thank you for being such a loyal guest. It is always a pleasure to see guests like you and your family returning to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, mi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The UMASS CC Hotel has made great strides since 'back in the day' when a bed in concrete box was how you would have described it. The rooms are well appointed, beds are comfortable, free coffee and cookies are a nice touch.

That said unless you really, really want to be on campus, like the group of old friends I was visitng with last weekend you probably would find another hotel a better fit.

Parking is in the central gagrage a good walk (possibly involving stairs), they had no cab service on a saturday night that would come to the hotel, and the frames around the beds severely bruised me and many of my fellow travellers. The bathroom is beautiful. I love the design; it's just really small.

Staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Normally I would say face the pond, but, just make sure the construction is done.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green. Took a little while for the water to heat up.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rascalofcowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Rascalofcowtown,

I thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experiences at our UMass Hotel. It’s always nice to read each guest take on the hotel. You will be happy to know that we are currently in the process of making changings in the rooms. There will be no more of the boxed bed frames; we hope to have this completed before the end of the summer. Again thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Review should really be 4.5 stars! Great location in Campus Center/Student Union Building right in the middle of the campus. Parking Garage underneath is complimentary with your stay. Greeted by very nice and personable student employee at reception. Immaculate rooms and baths looked new and renovated. Beds very comfortable. Even though the room includes continental breakfast in lobby, it was great to have a Keurig in the room for a quick cup of coffee while dressing. Was impressed by facial wipe provided to remove makeup, as well as, the usual toiletries. Only issue we had was the warm temperature of the room. Late at night we attempted to adjust the heat, but were unable to get the room cooler. But it was April, so we opened the window and the temperature became very comfortable. Two things to note: (1) room service closes at 9PM & (2) if you want morning newspaper, you must request during check-in. Will definitely stay there every time we're in Amherst!

Room Tip: Overlooks campus. Ask for view of campus pond.
See more room tips
Green Features: Toiletries in recycled packaging, linen reuse program and ENERGY STAR appliances in room.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Audrey K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your visit to the UMass Hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay. Again thank you for letting us know about your experiences we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights when visiting the campus with my son who will be attending UMASS next year. Staff was exceptionally friendly & always eager to help. Had good night's sleep. Bed was comfortable but my son & I both had sore backs in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Thomas S,

I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the UMass Hotel. It is always a pleasure to have guest visiting campus stay with us. We look for to seeing you and your son back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently stayed at The Campus Center Hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the renovations. Lots of upgrades, from the Keurig coffee maker in the room, to the fancy shampoo and conditioner, to the maroon and white decor. As an Alumni, I really enjoyed my stay with a few of my old roomates. The breakfast the next morning was great, and the service from the front desk terrific. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Cathy S,

Thank you for recommending our UMass Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you and your friends had fun being back on campus. We very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at the UMass Hotel and Conference Center in the past for business and most recently pleasure. No matter the occasion, it truly becomes a trip down memory lane each time. For any UMass alum you can relate.

We had fun during this impromptu visit and didn't reserve/check in until very late in the evening/early AM--tried for a low rate via phone, but they weren't budging. We took it in stride and enjoyed the lovely breakfast provided for all guests in the AM.

One staff member named Dax T. shined throughout our short stay and should be recognized for going the extra mile in all that he does. He had the hustle down and maintained a gentle and understanding attitude. I first observed his efforts from afar during breakfast service and then happened to interact with him personally during two separate occasions. He is an asset to the Hotel and Conference Center team at UMass.

Mike was also very helpful in a follow-up call to the hotel following our departure.

GO UMASS!





\

Room Tip: Lots of new dirt (construction in UMass terms) underway. Consult in advance with the UMass hotel sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Reppop,

We are so pleased you chose to stay with us here at the UMass Hotel. I thank you for recognizing our staff. It is always a pleasure to know when our staff has been able to make a guest experience extra special. We look forward to your next visit to UMass Amherst!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing