We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UMass Hotel- Pleasant surprise right on campus”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“UMass Hotel- Pleasant surprise right on campus”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The UMass hotel turned out to be pretty nice surprise for us during a recent visit to Amherst. The hotel itself is sort of a big concrete building that would pass for a science hall. It's a little unconventional in that you enter thru the underground garage and walk thru the student center to the elevators where the lobby is on the 3rd floor. The rooms are fairly standard and have all the amenities. Wi-fi worked well. The staff was very helpful, had requested connecting rooms and they were all set for us at check-in. The complimentary breakfast is pretty basic and the seating area very small, but you can take the food over to the lobby sitting areas. And they are good at replenishing the food as it runs low. We liked it overall and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dw732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear dw732,

I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you took the time to let us know about your experiences and very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    169
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
209
49
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night before visiting UMass. Excellent location, right in the middle of campus, rooms were very clean, people are very helpful. Only issue is that the beds are really small. We had me, my wife and our twin 16 year old girls in one room and it was very tight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgosule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Pgosule,

Thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. I appreciate your information about the size of our beds. I am looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is very nice, neat and modern. The service was generally very good, but we were told that the breakfast was served until 10:30. But when we stopped for a late breakfast at 10:00 all of the food had been put away. There was coffee but no milk and sugar. Please post your hours of service and keep to them so guests can properly plan their mornings. Otherwise, a very nice and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Faclark,

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay. I am very sorry that you were given the incorrect information. We do service breakfast from 7AM-10AM daily. I hope we will see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Undoubtedly one of the ugliest buildings every designed--a concrete monstrosity that only an East German architect could love. Otherwise, comfortable, quiet, peaceful rooms. Perflect location on campus. Breakfast corner on first floor is cramped and needs some serious re-designing. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HowzitMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear HowzitMinneapolis,

I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our UMass Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your suggestions about the breakfast area. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great room, great decor, great location, great campus, great housekeeping, great (friendly) staff, great parking. Quick & easy check out. What can I say? Everything was great! Highly recommend this location over "cheaper" local hotels. If you're staying for activities on the UMass campus, there isn't a better place to be. Thank you! :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie_91_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Melanie_91_95,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to the UMass Hotel and Conference Center. I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of the campus and is excellent. Large room, clean, comfortable, free and fast wi-fi. It is part of the Campus Center complex. The staff was wonderful. I travel a lot for business. I wish I could expect to experience this level of professionalism and accommodations at other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear LMG2013,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the UMass Hotel and Conference Center. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I thank you for the wonderful review and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Clean large rooms with fantastically comfortable beds. When U. Mass is in session the 2nd floor, adjacent to the parking garage as well, is full of food options. Each room gets a free parking pass as well. Friendly helpful staff and a good free breakfast--coffee and cookies available all day long. So convenient and it was excellent to be there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megabit65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Megabit65,

I thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the UMass Hotel. I am so very glad that you enjoyed your visit. We very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing