We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An exemplary hotel/service model for others to follow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An exemplary hotel/service model for others to follow”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of the campus and is excellent. Large room, clean, comfortable, free and fast wi-fi. It is part of the Campus Center complex. The staff was wonderful. I travel a lot for business. I wish I could expect to experience this level of professionalism and accommodations at other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear LMG2013,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the UMass Hotel and Conference Center. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. I thank you for the wonderful review and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    165
    57
    11
    7
See reviews for
201
48
20
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Clean large rooms with fantastically comfortable beds. When U. Mass is in session the 2nd floor, adjacent to the parking garage as well, is full of food options. Each room gets a free parking pass as well. Friendly helpful staff and a good free breakfast--coffee and cookies available all day long. So convenient and it was excellent to be there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megabit65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Megabit65,

I thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the UMass Hotel. I am so very glad that you enjoyed your visit. We very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent hotel if you're visiting any of the area institutions. The staff are super-professional. Nice rooms, everything clean and well-appointed. Service could not be better. The hotel is right on the UMass campus. Very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMcMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear CarolineMcMuffin,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to our UMass hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear about our guest experiences. We very much look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This campus hotel is second to none. Its location on campus is excellent. The beds were extremely comfortable, much better than I could have ever expected. The room is a great size with plenty of outlets, great flat screen TV, and FREE Wi-Fi. It was cleaner than most rooms I have paid double and triple the price. Breakfast was included, and everything was clean, plentiful, with a well rounded menu.
If you thought the accommodations were great, wait until you meet the staff, especially Rachelle A. Those in training surely fooled me, and those in charge better not be decide to go to the big city to share their expertise, talent, and love for hospitality with another hotel. They would certainly be missed!
Thanks for making our stay so comfortable in every way.
Dr Bob

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drbobn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Dr. bobn,

Wow! Can I just say reading your review filled me with so much joy. I am so thankful you enjoyed your stay with us at the UMass Hotel and Conference Center. I am even more thankful for your generous praise of our hotel and staff. We truly do have some wonderful people working here and it is such an honor when they can be recognized for their work. Again thank you for taking the time let us know about your visit, we look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Hotel/Conference Center on the UMass campus is an excellent choice for visiting the university. There could not be a better location (it connects with the Campus Center/Student Union). The hotel was recently refurbished and is very attractive inside. The rooms are average size, but nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. Our only complaint would be the too-hard pillows. The breakfast was better than expected and the staff (often UMass students) extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Spartans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear 3Spartans,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I want to thank you so very much for your wonderful review. I appreciate your feedback on the pillows and will look into the matter. Again thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit it. See you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel gets better and better with each stay. They are constantly improving and keeping up with the Hotel industry. The staff is known to be a "training staff" but is TOP NOTCH. They know the area whether it be transportation, events, campus locations, town locations and recommendations. The rooms are spacious, upto date and impeccably clean! There is no point in staying at one of the chain hotels on Route 9 when this hotel is in the heart of campus. It is great to look out the window and see the growing UMASS Campus and the bustling atmosphere right outside. Prices are lower if not competitive with the surrounding area. Not only do you get parking and Continental Breakfast, but they have recently added WIFI! If not to spoil the guests enough, they have added luggage assistant with a lovely gentleman whom even greeted at the garage and directed the way. Will recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone I know headed to the Amherst area. I can't wait until my next Amherst Excursion to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Rebecca P,

I want to thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the UMass Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us. I also want to thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on our hotel. It was a delight to read your review. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodations at UMass-Amherst. The hotel was clean, the rooms were nicely decorated, the "continental" breakfast was plentiful and you cannot beat the location when visiting your student!!! Would stay again, over and over.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Lori F,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
7.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing