We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay in Amherst!”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Service: High level of service. Professional, friendly and helpful staff accommodated any request. From the parking attendants to the housekeeping staff and lobby staff, everyone was wonderful.

Room: Tasteful, modern and recently renovated. They have a "Cleaning Bill of Rights" posted in the room and it was, by far, the cleanest hotel room we've ever seen. We stayed in the two room suite which was spacious and comfortable. Loved the ultra-modern bathrooms and kitchenette. Free Keurig, razors, shaving cream, etc was a nice touch. Incredibly comfortable mattress. Very quiet with no disruption from neighboring occupied rooms. The only downside of the room was that the temperature was a bit hard to control and the room felt cold at times.

Location: Centrally located; walking distance to world-class dining halls at Amherst. On-site cafeteria and campus store provided anything we would have needed on a bad weather day. The gelato and Pho downstairs are a must-try.

Food: Complementary breakfast had healthy choices and some indulgences as well: cereal, organic oatmeal, free-range hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, European-quality pastries, juice, and coffee.

General: Lobby was comfortable and featured floor-to-ceiling windows and stylish, modern and comfortable furniture. Parking was ample and fairly easy to access. As a guest in the hotel, you have access to a nearby pool. Free WiFi was available but a little slow, though the management was aware of the issue and trying to remedy the problem.

Overall, a wonderful hotel that we would highly recommend during your visit to Amherst! A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freebird807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 473 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed over for 2 nights for freshman parent's orientation. I like that it was in the middle of UMass and most things are walking distance from the hotel. It's a renovated hotel from the 70's and it shows in the basic architecture but the interior was remodelled tastefully with a touch of the modern. Reservations and check in was a breeze. Needed a car pass for free parking.

Likes:
Location is central
Rooms are spacious for two
Lifts were speedy
Service was very personal and helpful
Windows in rooms open slightly for some fresh air
Lots of free parking
Free access to gym (nothing fancy but got a good workout)
Student Center and University Store right in the same building
University - Collegiate atmosphere in the area
Easy access to the Amherst-Hadley area

Dislikes:
Limited Breakfast (a factor if I workout in the mornings)
Gym is located in a building 3 block away (takes a bit of time in the morning rush)
A bit of a walk from parking to lobby (difficult if you have more than one luggage)
A bit difficult to find within the campus

As the list can show, there are many pluses to checking into the UMass Hotel. With my dislikes, they are mostly minor issues that can easily be overlooked if the service is good. And the service was excellent in this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful that we felt at home in the place. Fine North Eastern hospitality.

When visiting our daughter in the collage or the Amherst area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilippineTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our family of four stayed here for 2 nights to tour the campus. The staff was great and the location is right in the center of campus. Parking was easy. Breakfast was continental/sparse but coffee was available all day. The room was small for four and the bathroom was tiny. All the facilities were clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed from Thurs. night through Sunday (June 28 - July 1) for the Jehovah's Witness convention. The staff was always ready and willing to help right from the "Welcome" when we arrived to "hoping to see you again next year" when we left. Everyone was very friendly. Looking forward to staying again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimranS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for orientation and I really wasn't expecting much.. We ere pleasantly supriised by the modern style and finishes as well as an impeccably clean room. The front desk staff was helpful and cheery. I was particularly impressed that the housekeeping managers follow up added to the impeccable quarters. He was everywhere!

Room Tip: We stayed in 731. Beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

For parents of students or potential students UMASS Hotel offers a discount. Even though we told the person taking our reservation that we were coming out for orientation we were not offered the discount rate. We were informed of the discount during the orientation but when we went back to the staff we were informed they could only discount our second night stay since our first night had already been processsed.

The service and amenities were outstanding though the breakfast area was confined with limited seating

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Everything was very good. The only thing was the contential breakfast was the same thing everyday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
184 reviews
9.1 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: $133 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing