We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campus Stay”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
rocknroll97
1 review
“Campus Stay”
Reviewed January 30, 2008

It was a pleasant stay. First time visitors bringing our son to look at the school. The desk staff was very helpful with suggestions concerning the school and the area. The hotel is a teaching hotel, so the staff is majority students. The location indoor parking, high speed internet and the breakfast make this great value. The campus tours leave from the second floor of the building daily. The rooms are somewhat outdate, there is some new furniture in the room.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — outdated furniture
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rocknroll97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    169
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
209
49
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amherst
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Pretty disappointing place. Dirty bathroom, cement rooms, unfriendly lady at the desk. This place needs a lot of work. Very hard to find - in campus student union. Not a bad breakfast. Cheap.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DisappointedAmherst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2007

Month of Stay: October 2006

PROS: For any scholar needing to do research at the Du Bois Library, this is the BEST place! It's literally a 5 minute walk and you can maximize your full day of research by staying at this hotel. It has a campus store with small restaurants in the basement, making it convenient to buy snacks and okay-tasting food. Within walking distance of dining halls that sell food as well. Also, going in the fall when the leaves are turning is sensational. In general, the "hotel" offers some pretty nice views of campus and the foliage. I wish had pictures to post.

NEUTRAL: Front desk was neither stellar nor terrible. The representatives were neither welcoming or unfriendly. [Which I still don't believe speaks well for customer service] Likewise, the free continental breakfast was nothing exciting - basic staples- juice, cereal, etc... - not too good for folks who don't eat carbs or sugar.

CONS:
It felt like a dorm, not even a renovated dorm, but a flat out 1970's cinder block, cold dorm. I wouldn't be too harsh on it if I hadn't stayed at other universities who have renovated dorms for visitors' use (i.e. UCLA Guest House). Outdated furniture and dust all over the lamps. Beds were nothing to shout about--very flat. I didn't feel comfortable or clean at all, and I've stayed in quite a few dorms as an academic. Some channels didn't come in on the TV. The bathroom was a little scarier - old, cracked in places, and little scary. This should not be called a hotel but simply Campus Center Dorm for Visitors. Also, I went in October when the weather was just turning very chilly. There was no in-room temperature controls as the entire buidling, as the front-desk told me, was controlled by a central line. So, I had the front desk bring me extra blankets. Not good. Also, re: FOOD, check the expiration dates on some of the food and drinks sold in the campus store in the basement. I had a few expired products. All in all, I was HAPPY to leave this "hotel".

  • Liked — Proximity to the library
  • Disliked — Dirty, Old, dorm
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LifeIsShort...Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 3, 2006

The Campus Center Hotel is our prefered place to stay when we visit campus. While it may not have all the amenties of NYC's Omni, its location is absolutely wonderful if you are visiting campus. You can walk from the hotel to anywhere you need to go and into the Town of Amherst as well. While the physical features of the rooms are right out of the 1970's (With its poured concrete walls, etc.)the service its staff provides makes it a really great hotel. Everyone is helpful, courteous and friendly! And the rate for student families is a wonderful bargain. We've stayed at other locations in the area and still prefer the Campus Center

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2005

The room was clean and comfortable.

Most of all I appreciated the classy customer service, they really went out of their way to accommodate my stay in Amherst. Flexible when I needed to check out late. The breakfast in the lobby is impressive. The location in the middle of campus is absolutely phenomenal and allowed me to get all my work done and enjoy my traveling.

Walkable from the Peter Pan bus depot for Umass. Ideal for basketball/softball/soccer fan access. If I'm in town for a Umass game I rest here. Go Umass!

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank 86x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2005

I have stayed at the Campus Center many times when visiting Amherst. I never mind it because I know what I'm in for. After four years in the dorms, the concrete walls and hard furniture feel like home. It's cheap and that's that. The location is wonderful - in the center of campus. The rooms are blah and dark.

Usually my stay is fine, but one time there was a terrible incident - a dance in the campus center got out of control and a fire alarm went off all night long, making me nearly crazy - flashing lights and sirens for hours non-stop. We got that night for free, automatically.

My recommendation is to check and see if there are any special events in the building that night before booking. If not, then expect a no frills, you get what you pay for place.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Elires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2004

I stayed here for a conference in August - it was just fine, a nice surprise after the reviews I had read.

It is not a luxury hotel by any means, but it is not a scary dive - the room was clean, very spacious, with two queen sized beds. The staff was very friendly.

The amenities were spare, so bring your own hair conditioner if you need it, and if you stay during the summer, you should know that the bar/restaurant is closed, and the campus store closes at 5pm.

It is a short walk or bus ride into Amherst center, though, where things are still open and active.

Helpful?
18 Thank Meret17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing