We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed every moment”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Rooms are clean, staff is very helpful, and delighted to answer questions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Ms. Debra M,
Thank you! We love to hear that our staff has been helpful to guests during their stay.
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 466 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were looking for an overnight accommodation on my daughter's "look-see" trip to U.Mass Amherst, and this hotel had received very nice reviews on TripAdvisor. Since it is located on the campus and employs students in the Hotel Management/Hospitality major (under the auspices of Marriott Corporation), I thought it would be an excellent chance to see a U.Mass education at work, not to mention be a great base for exploring the campus.

The hotel is located on several dedicated floors of the Campus Center at U.Mass. One parks in the (complimentary for guests) underground garage and takes the elevator up to the hotel floors. Other floors of this building house a pub, food court, various other restaurants and entertainment venues.

Once exiting the elevator, one is in a large, high ceilinged, furnished lobby. There is a general manager (non-student) on duty and students man the reception desk. The students are in uniform as in a fine hotel. I found them to be courteous, knowledgeable and serious about their work.

We were placed in a lovely room overlooking the campus pond. The furnishings in the room and bathroom were extremely modern and very comfortable and pleasing to the eye. There were ample outlets and plug ins for those with electronic equipment. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean in every respect. There was a written card provided in the room which explained the procedures for cleaning the room and the hotel's commitment to eliminating possiblities of cross contamination.

At some point we noticed that the deadbolt on our room door was not working, and the maintenance man was unable to fix it. The hotel desk immediately called us, informed us that they would be moving us directly across the hall, and sent an employee (student) up to facilitate our move. This was done extremely professionally and with as little disturbance to us as possible. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and am sure that many would not have handled the situation as efficiently.

We had the option of going to the University Club or out to the town of Amherst for dinner, but were tired and opted instead for the food court in the Campus Center building. My daughter tells us that U.Mass Amherst has a high rating for campus food on various websites and I can believe it. I know it is not fancy, but my daughter and I ate Thai curry soup (one chooses one's own fresh ingredients for the soup from a beautiful array of produce, starches and meats, chooses the broth, and the soup is made on site for you, $6.75 for a huge container) that I am still dreaming about, it was that good! My husband ate a fresh tomato, basil and mozzarella baguette on HOT bread, it was to die for.

The continental breakfast that was included in the room price was adequate....coffee, tea, juices, oatmeal, danish, bagels, cold cereal, bananas......only spoiled by the inadequate amount of lobby space allotted for this breakfast area. I suggest placing a few tables and chairs on the opposite end of the lobby, where there is some unused space to the side of a set of double doors.

All in all a great stay, kudos to the U.Mass students who work so hard and whose effort shows in this immaculate, well run hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from elevators and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teenagers'mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Teenagers’ mom
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience staying at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself and our staff. I hope we will see you again soon.
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at the UMass student run hotel right in the center of campus. The room was very comfortable and functional. It was well maintained and spotless. We would definately stay there again. The free continental breakfast and free parking were great perks. The staff was welcoming and very professional. My one negative is that it's not easy to get to if you have trouble walking. The parking garage is somewhat of a walk from the elevators and the ramped entrance in the front is not well marked. It's actually marked as a pedestrian area on the road leading to it. Clearly marked signs would be helpful in that area. All in all, despite the walking, it will remain as our choice when visiting UMass.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillsideeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Hillsideeast,
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are currently working with the University to improve our hotel signage for guests coming to the hotel.
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just spent 3 nights in the Hotel when attending a conference at UMass. Nothing to wax about but very clean, looks to have been fully refurbished recently and absolutely fine to stay in. Fridges are not standard in many rooms in the US so take into account (we booked one). Was well appointed and had aeverthing we needed by way of amenaties. Anything else you were certain to be able to get downstairs in one of the Uni shops or eateries. On that front hit the University Club for dinner or snacks as really professionally prepared and presented food, nice staff and a superb clam chowder (we ate there every night).

Room Tip: The weather was very overcast for our whole trip, we had a room on the northern side (overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Travelater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear The_Travelater,
I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay at the UMass Hotel. I am glad we were able to be of assistance to you during your stay.
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Wll located for the U Mass and Amherst campuses. This student trainee run hotel exceed expectations as the exterior of thebuilding is brutalist architrecture. Insid the staff were welcoming.

Brekfast is adquate but not exceptional.

Rooms are well apointed but more on the functional side than the luxurious side.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear TravellerPolland,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts about the UMass Hotel.
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is my first stay at the UMass Hotel at the Campus Center, but it will certainly not be the last. There is no better place to stay in the area. Convenience, location, price, cleanliness, staff professionalism, and amenities are all unbeatable. The rooms are well-furnished with all the elements that you need for a comfortable and productive stay. Bedding is extremely comfortable and spotless. Parking is free and right on the premises. The University Club is a great place to eat and is located only a short five-minute walk away.
I am a frequent traveler, and have rarely found such an outstanding hotel anywhere. This will certainly be my hotel of choice every time I come to UMass or anywhere in this area. Wish more hotels were like this!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here while my husband attended a conference. The room was big, very clean, and up-dated. I liked the fact there was no bedspread and the blanket was between two sheets. The bathroom was very small but clean and modern. I didn't like that it was a public bathroom toilet where you had to put the lid down to step on the flush thing. But, it was clean. We could hear door closing from inside the room but we didn't hear any other noice from other rooms. But I don't think it was very full so there may not have been anyone near us. The doors do not close on themselves so we would walk into the room and then look later and our door would still be open. So make sure when you leave and when you come back, you shut the door cause it does not close on its own.

There was a small continental breakfast that they switched up a little bit every day. Still mostly a lot of carb options-pastry, bagel, toast, cereal. However, a hotel like this usually doesn't offer any type of breakfast at all so it was a plus.

You get free parking while you stay here, until 5 pm on check-out day. That was a great option. It was nice to be able to come and go and not worry about the parking cost.

It is also located in the student center so if you just go down to the 2nd floor, there was the book store and lots of food options. I had the pizza, which was very good, and then in the burger/burrito section found a small salad bar. The salad bar was by the pound but I got a nice salad for about $4.00. They have a pretty good, varied selection so walk around and look at everything before you decide.

Overall, I found the hotel comfortable, clean, and convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CincinnatiCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
181 reviews
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: $142 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing