We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
“Quiet and clean”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Favorite Hotel to stay in when I am in Amherst. The rooms are claen and the atmosphere is quiet. I only wish you could regulate the tempature of the room instead of asking the front desk to do so for you.

Room Tip: They need to change the rooms so guest can change the heat/AC temputures themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Janet A,
Let me start by thanking you for being such a loyal and dedicated guest at the UMass Hotel. The thermostats in the room do allow for a temperature range between 65-74 degrees that guest are able to set to their desired temperatures. I hope this will help you next time you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Sincerely,
David O'Connor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    169
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
209
49
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navesink, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Helpful with directions - arrived at 1 am. Very courteous staff. Pleasantly surprised with accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Teri L,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! Hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, MA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Big, super clean rooms! Right in the middle of everything. Gerat for parents visiting students

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyGeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear StaceyGeary,
Please to here that you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you back soon!
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here for the UMass Accepted Students Day. Lovely room, very comfortable beds, great view, nice staff, continental breakfast included (good coffee!). Only complaints- we were 3 rooms away from the elevators and could still hear them. Also, very thin walls - you could hear a conversation next door. Luckily, there were no parties or rowdiness while we were there. Overall, if you are visiting the campus, this can't be beat.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flatbushfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptons, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed overnight while visiting UMass. We found the hotel comfortable, clean, and well appointed. The walls are thin, you will hear people in the other rooms. Overall, it was a great value and a very convenient. The included breakfast is a nice touch, your standard continental fare. It's the perfect place to stay for business or visiting on the campus, but I would not plan a weekend getaway here :).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamptons4Health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
I’m pleased you took the time to let us know about your recent stay at the UMass Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the continental breakfast, we are always happy to provide a little something extra for our guest.
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Convenient location, modern, comfortable rooms, excellent service, reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMA017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thanks for the taking the time to tell us about your stay! Hope to see you back soon!
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Recently stayed here overnight with my son when touring U Mass. We picked this hotel because of its convenient location, but it was such a pleasant surprise.

The room was clean and seemingly brand new. Although it was a little small, it was perfectly fine for our overnight stay. The staff was very nice and despite a short delay at check-in, we couldn't have been happier.

The chocolate chip cookies and coffee waiting in the lobby during check-in were a nice touch and the included breakfast was a good unexpected perk. U Mass labeled bottled water was much appreciated. The attached {and included} underground parking was wonderful.

If we had not had to wait to check-in, this would have been a 5 star review. If U Mass is in our future, this hotel will definitely be our go to spot!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starbabytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
I apologize that you had a delay in checking in and thank you for your patience. I am very pleased that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay. Hopefully your son enjoyed himself too and we will see you this summer!
Sincerely,
David O'Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing