We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UMASS hotel very good”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“UMASS hotel very good”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Nicely refurbished and very clean room and bath at a good price.The room came with a good view of the area. Pleasant and helpful staff. Hotel is located in the middle of the UMASS campus with a convenient garage. A good choice to stay when in Western MA.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    168
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
208
49
22
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Mass
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

love the view from the campus center. The room was very clean and nicely renovated. I stayed here last minute after working in the area last week. 5 stars could be attained with entrance to the new recreation center or exercise area and bottled water inside the room. I could hear people in the next room and outside in the corridors but that is common in all hotels I've stayed at recently. UMASS has a fine Hotel Management program and large chain hotels could benefit by having their people retrained by the best!!

Room Tip: there is a coffee maker in room and breakfast downstairs in lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanebytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The UMass Hotel is in the middle of the UMass-Amherst campus on the top floors of the Student Center where the eating choices are many and varied. There is a garage with free parking connected to the hotel. Check-in was a breeze. The rooms are fully updated and very large. The bathrooms also large, white, and sparkling with all amenities. And the rates are among the most reasonable in the area. With a son at a local college, we have stayed at the Marriott and Holiday Inn Express in Amherst, and the Hampton Inn in Hadley (our previous favorite), but the UMass Hotel outstrips them all. The only problem is that availabilty is limited by the obvious popularity of the place and college events that bring an influx of people to the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamer3651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We loved our 3-night stay at the UMass Campus Center Hotel this week. The hotel (ca 1970s) was newly renovated. The all-concrete construction has been softened with panels and the rooms are much warmer, welcoming and quiet. The not large room had all the essentials (hair dryer, iron, large screen t.v., coffee maker and great walk-in shower.) Its location on campus made for nice room views, scenic walks and close proximity to the U-Mass library and the fine arts center and gallery. A free continental breakfast was extensive and held us 'til lunch. Complimentary coffee and tea are available all day. The attached parking garage ($5.00-day charge) made parking convenient. On the garage level are the U-Mass store, several reasonably priced student eateries and even a barber. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The only downside - traffic in and out of the campus can be heavy at times and there is quite a bit of campus construction. But the location is central to so many Pioneer Valley attractions, colleges, etc. We would chose this hotel over the nearby chains.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The hotel is fine. Very quiet the weekend we were there and pleasant in everyway. Too bad that no one mentioned that the $5 per day parking (for cars parked in addition to the one included for free with the room) requires a special pass from the hotel desk. On our way out in a rush we were hit with a $32 parking fee. When I called to ask what happened to the $5 I was promised over the phone when I called in advance I was told a pass was required and that the hotel could do nothing about the charge since parking is an independent campus department. How hard is it to ask at check in if we were parking more than one car? How hard would it be to credit us the $22 difference?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
It is unfortunate to hear about the parking problem that occurred during your stay with us. We ask our front desk staff to inquire at check in if our guests have a car in the parking garage, as one complimentary pass is included with the room, and that additional parking passes are available for our guests for a $5.00 charge per day. We sincerely apologize if this did not occur and for any inconvenience, if you would like to discuss this any further please contact me at the hotel.

David O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Generally, I prefer larger, semianonymous hotels when traveling on business. Something about them makes focusing on the work at hand less stressful. That said, the room absolutely must be quiet and clean (at the very least). UMass Hotel fit the bill perfectly. The desk staff (students, I believe) were friendly and welcoming; they offered excellent advice and directions. The room was just the right size and very comfortable. My biggest pre-visit concern was the quiet component (it is located at the heart of this large campus, after all), but I had no reason to be concerned. I got the kind of rest I needed in between two grueling days of meetings and conferences. As a bonus, they have the best "continental" breakfast I've had in a hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This was the first time my husband and I stayed at the UMass Campus Center Hotel and it was very nice. We didn't know what to expect from a campus hotel and were very pleased with our room. The hotel room is smaller than most other hotels we have stayed at but very pleasant! The bathroom is also small but looked brand new. The free breakfast doesn't offer any hot eggs but had all the basics. We didn't mind the short walk from the underground garage to the elevators that take you to the hotel lobby. The staff was friendly, and the price was good. This is not a traditional full service hotel but we would stay here again without a doubt...great place to stay when visiting campus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing