We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

This was the first time my husband and I stayed at the UMass Campus Center Hotel and it was very nice. We didn't know what to expect from a campus hotel and were very pleased with our room. The hotel room is smaller than most other hotels we have stayed at but very pleasant! The bathroom is also small but looked brand new. The free breakfast doesn't offer any hot eggs but had all the basics. We didn't mind the short walk from the underground garage to the elevators that take you to the hotel lobby. The staff was friendly, and the price was good. This is not a traditional full service hotel but we would stay here again without a doubt...great place to stay when visiting campus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    165
    57
    11
    7
See reviews for
201
48
20
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

A couple of things improved and this would be perfect - firstly, wireless internet is a must for those of us with smartphones, secondly, breakfast could improve. Otherwise, friendly staff and pleasant guestrooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thanks for commenting that we exceeded your expectations during your stay here at the UMass Hotel at the Campus Center. We love to hear from our guests to get feedback so we can further improve your experience. We hope you will be staying with us again soon. Some things you can look forward to are: wireless internet in all of our guests’ rooms and a change to our current breakfast format.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The decor is very stylish and the hotel is very comfortable. It's not quite full service, and it's a bit of hassle to get to the lobby from the parking compared to a traditional hotel, but once you get the hang of it, it's not bad. And given the price point, I think it's a very good hotel. I've stayed several times and most often I think I've paid around $120. I can't remember the last time I stayed in a hotel for $120 that was as good as this one. The only complaint - and it's big for me - is that there was no provision for guest WiFi. How could a hotel at a research university be so behind the times in that simple offering? Other than that, I was very happy and would definitely stay there again if I go to Amherst.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krawimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
We are pleased that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay here at the UMass Hotel at the Campus Center. Our goal, with our recent renovation was to provide a trendy room with the feel of home that offers value to our guests. We encourage feedback from our guests for new ideas on how to further enhance the guest experience. This is a continual process as we strive to provide a memorable stay for all of our guests. Currently, we are in the process of providing wireless internet access to all of our guest rooms and hope to have it completed shortly. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Had stayed in Campus Center Hotel numerous times in the past and had always found it to be quite drab. But my family stayed in the new renovated hotel for the first time at the end of August and were truly impressed. Everything from the elevators on up has been renovated. The pictures on the official site will give you an idea.

The hotel has apparently partnered with Marriott and is indistinguishable from many of the fine properties that chain has. Service was excellent - I screwed up our reservation but the night manager switched one of our rooms to give us two double beds without a problem, despite the fact the hotel was completely booked. Also, they placed a fridge that we had ordered in the new room within 5 minutes flat.

Even if you think you've been there and done that with the CCH, give it another try. It's as good as any area hotel and location should make it your top preference. Only downside: you can't get Marriott points for staying there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We are glad that we exceeded your expectations during your stay here at the UMass Hotel at the Campus Center. We are pleased to hear that your request was able to be accommodated. We strive to provide a memorable stay for all our guests and provide exceptional customer service. Just one clarification- The UMass Hotel at the Campus Center is an independently run hotel by the University and is not affiliated with any major chain. What you saw was the signage for the brand new Marriott Center which is a teaching facility for the Hospitality and Tourism Management department on campus and is also housed in our building. Funding for the construction was provided by the Marriott Foundation.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

UMass Hotel rooms are nicely appointed and very clean! This hotel is in the center of University of Mass campus and is most convenient to (within walking distance) the lovely town of Amherst and Amherst College. The room rates are reasonable and include Continental breakfast . The staff is friendly and outgoing. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend UMass Hotel to others!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bariw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed here a couple times within the past year, and most recently in February of 2011. The room was good quality and comfortable. The bathroom was very modern, and the glass shower was quite nice. The staff was pleasant and polite. The continental breakfast was included, but the dining space was rather tight. The sitting area in the lobby was comfortable. The validated parking inside the garage is included, and its a little walk from the elevator through the lower level concourse to the car, nice when the weather outside is wet or very hot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

My family and I are Jehovah's Witnesses and we were staying on campus for one of our conventions. Your staff was very helpful. Our room was very clean and your room service did a great job of putting everything back together while we were off enjoying out convention. You see we have a newborn and everything was a little crazy when we left. It was so nice and relaxing to come back to a clean room. Thank you again and we truly look forward to seeing you next year!!
Sincerely The Driscoll Family

Room Tip: The rooms were very clean and beautiful! A refrigerator is optional, which is so convientient!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
7.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing