We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel UMass
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I was very very pleasantly surprised with this hotel room. It was modern and my husband and I both loved it! We stayed there for our convention at the beginning of July. The rooms were clean, beds were nice and we somehow got their great executive suite with a kitchen area that included fridge sink microwave and cabinets full of dinnerware. Thanks for that! Definitely would stAy here again. Wouldn't think to book anywhere else :)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asweetsuprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    169
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
209
49
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This is the first time we have stayed at the Campus Center. The check in was quick and very friendly. The rooms reminded me of being in Europe, small but not cramped. The room was extremely clean. The bed was very comfortable as well. The bathrooms are all tile(including shower) with glass shower doors. The scones at breakfast were great as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our room was attractive and clean although the bathroom is very small. The hotel needs to provide better signage in getting people from parking garage to hotel lobby. The walkway is unattractive and also a little hard to follow. The lobby area, however, is very nice and light-filled. Breakfast was good, too, although very crowded when we were there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pa
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This hotel is right in the middle of the UMass Amherst Campus so it is extremely convenient if you are attending an event at UMass or visiting a student. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with all of the amenities of any larger chain hotel.
The breakfast is "continental" with cereals, fruit , breads and several pastry. All fresh and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

parking is a little tricky (floor 2), reception inside on floor 3 and it would have been great if the restaurants were open, but the semester had ended, so.... no food at the hotel other than the breakfast which was very good for continental. the desk help were wonderful and the rooms were a very pleasant surprise compared to the looks from the outside of the building.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laxraul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights to go biking and visit friends in the area. The garage (included) was great for storing the car (and bikes) out of the weather. The hotel was clean and comfortable and we had a nice view of the pond. On the weekend in early May the campus center was pretty quiet, although we did grab a sandwich one day at the Blue Wall. Mostly we walked to town (20 min, very pleasant) for dinner or biked. It seemed like there weren't many people staying, it was quiet. There was a basic breakfast in a small area of the lobby in the morning. The building is quite ugly on the outside, but that makes it easy to find on campus!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanish_af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have stayed here three or four times and we love it. It is staffed with hotel management students who do an excellent job. It is right in the middle of campus - in the same building as the University Bookstore and a couple eating locations on campus. The parking garage is a bit of a walk from the hotel area, but it is not a problem if your luggage has wheels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesportsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#6 of 7 in Hadley
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Property: Hotel UMass
Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003-9243 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing